Cannoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Absolutely Amazing!! I was looking for a descent cannoli shell for my cannoli cream I make and what I got far exceeded my expectations!! Since I knew I was going to eat a cannoli, I wasn't to worried about the "Healthiness" of what I was eating, so I used lard instead of shortening... well because it makes everything taste better. By the way, trying to make this by yourself would be a nightmare. You need an assembly line... people will work for food! I call this the Italian version of the Tamale because the whole family has to help in this process. The one thing that saddened me was that when I stored them in an airtight container, the next day they weren't crispy like the night before =(, but my sadness was soon expelled with a little oven toasting, which brought them right back up to its fresh, crispy self!! Thanks Lydia!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Great recipe! I didn't have some of the ingredients, but still wanted to try it, and I'm glad I did! I used orange juice instead of the wine and vinegar, and on the filling I left out the citron and added vanilla and almond extract. I rolled out the dough to 1/8" with a rolling pin and sliced it into small chips to fry. Served a few chips with a dollop of filling and sliced strawberries in a sundae glass. It was great! Looking forward to trying again with the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Made this recipe as a gift to my husband. The dough was very simple to make and the filling was delicious. I added a tiny bit of vanilla to the filling. I did not have tubes to make cannoli shells, so I improvised and cut the dough into "chips" and served them with the filling as "dip". People thought this was great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
This is a home run! Well at least the filling I had to make them fast and bought the shells didn't have the time to make the shells. I also made a second type based off of your recipe I substituted Neutella in place fo the powedered sugar and white chips... Not "AUTHENTIC" but very tasty and your awsome recipe made it possible. Also way better then the pricy ones you get here in NJ that arent very good you got to cross a bridge to get a decent cannoli at bst, but not when you have this recipe!!!! Thank you I used them as party favors went over HUGE!!!! Again a home run
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Voorhees, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This recipe was terrific! It was very helpful since I had never made cannolis before. The other reviewers are right that this is a "more than one person" job. The one this that I did change is that I doubled the sugar for the filling. I also dipped the cannoli edges in chocolate before filling. We are sugar-fanatics in our house so the sweeter the better. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
i add a touch of orange flavor, grated orange peel, cherries and choc. chips, also if you dont want to take time to drain ricotta, add 1 package of instant vanilla pudding when mixing, this firms it up nicely. also, when in a hurry you can buy ready made boxes of cannoli shells,especially when you dont need quite as many,lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I HAVE A QUESTION ON THIS RECIPE...or any cannoli recipe...Is it possible for me to use a pizzelle iron to make these, I just want cannoli chips, not the circular shell Thanks in advance, Laurie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I used just the filling and filled store purchased Cannoli shells. I made the filling using just a little lemon and orange peel, as suggested. While they tasted good, the texture was a little gritty. The next day, after sitting in the refrigerator they did taste better. I think I might have taken out too much liquid from the Ricotta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lindenhurst, New York, USA
Living In: Avon Lake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aubrey Iacobelli
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
The shells came out SO good!! I was very pleased. I DID add a tad more sugar, just because I tend to do that, but that's just me. Also, the wine was the PERFECT touch to bring the flavors together. The filling, on the other hand was tasty, but not firm enough to pipe well into the shells. (It came out quite a mess, so I ended up scooping the filling with the shells in the end, since this was a trial run for me.) I would HIGHLY recommend draining the ricotta overnight BEFORE you begin this process, and you'll end up much happier. I also added some vanilla, and left out the citron in place of mini chocolate chips, since I'm not a fan of citron. :D All in all, this was a success for me, and Pop will be pleased when I come home for Christmas and make him this treat. Thanks!! Note: The shell making is NOT a one-person job. I did it (and nearly set the dorm on fire MANY times) so it's POSSIBLE, but way easier and more fun if you have someone rolling and forming the dough around the tubes, while someone else is frying them and then removing the shells, since they take around 30 seconds to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aubrey Iacobelli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weston, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
The shell was recipe was excellent. I had to add a couple of Tbs of water to get my dough to come together. But it did nicely. The narrowest sitting on my manual pasta machine cranked out shells that were blistering and crunchy, but also fragile. I might try the 2nd to narrowest setting the next time around. I also opted out of adding citron. Instead, I mixed in a tad amount of vanilla and almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ammelyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States