Cannoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
I too have found this recipe worthy of praise. The only change I would make is that when dealing with pastry type doughs such this one....always sprinkle rolling or kneading area with more 10x sugar then flour. This will add to the crispness and lessen the sometime pasty texture that flour alone gives. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Excellent shell. I didn't have cannoli tubes so instead I rolled out the dough (with a roller. Takes a lot of work but it's doable) and cut out small circles with the top of a drinking glass. I put a couple fork marks through each circle because they seemed to be puffing up quite a bit in the first round. Filling is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Good job...just a couple of things..I add 2 tsp. vanilla and 3 drops cinnamon oil (not powdered cinnamon, which is a different taste) to the filling to get that authentic bakery taste. I like to use part candied citron and part orange peel. A few tsb. cocoa and a little extra sugar to taste and you have an amazing chocolate filling. Lastly, it's worth it to try and get the *real* ricotta, ricotta impastata, which is different from regular/supermarket ricotta. Much drier. If you have an outlet near you that makes fresh ravioli they might sell you some. Otherwise I drain whole milk supermarket ricotta a few days and sometimes add some dry milk powder to thicken it up, but nothing beats the impastata. I also roll out the dough by hand, you don't need a machine..good exercise! Admittedly the machine makes it easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This is a great recipe! I altered it a bit using Frangelico liquer and Italian cinnamon. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
A fab 'Shell Recipe'. I have made cannoli shells for years. I often look for new recipes and this is absolutely the best. A bit tricky but not difficult to run through the machine. After chilling the dough place a lightly floured board under the pasta roller attachment. Large gumball size balls are pressed into a small pancake then patted on the board and run through the machine dusting with each increment of the rollers. On my KitchenAid setting 6 is thin enough. I lay the disc on the board and lightly oil a tube. (don't skip the oil) Lay the tube on one end of the disc and roll the tube. When you reach the end dab egg white on the flap and finish rolling. Lightly press the visible flap to make the line somewhat invisible and place in 350 degree veg oil for 2mins. Remove with tongs to paper towels and repeat. The previous rolls are cool enough to carefully slide off the tubes in 2 mins. I make only 2 at a time so there is a bit of a pace to keep up with the timer. It will take about an hour to make 20 shells. NOTE: Handle uncooked dough with clean fingertips. If your not organized you can get the pasta machine too dirty and difficult to clean. I keep the oil a few feet from the dough. I also made filling from cannoli-enterprises.com Many recipes to choose from. My fav has folded whipped cream. I'm just about out of characters so i will now say good luck and have fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOMJANICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Oh my GOD. These were so good. They take some time, but are fun to make with friends. I think it would be hard to make these by your self. Everything blended well. I WILL BE MAKING THESE AGAIN! I added nutmeg and didn't add the citron. It turned out great. I also drizzled chocolate over them.. WOW, you wont be able to stop eating them… These are fancy and very impressing looking to serve to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by strayredbolt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Absolutely Amazing!! I was looking for a descent cannoli shell for my cannoli cream I make and what I got far exceeded my expectations!! Since I knew I was going to eat a cannoli, I wasn't to worried about the "Healthiness" of what I was eating, so I used lard instead of shortening... well because it makes everything taste better. By the way, trying to make this by yourself would be a nightmare. You need an assembly line... people will work for food! I call this the Italian version of the Tamale because the whole family has to help in this process. The one thing that saddened me was that when I stored them in an airtight container, the next day they weren't crispy like the night before =(, but my sadness was soon expelled with a little oven toasting, which brought them right back up to its fresh, crispy self!! Thanks Lydia!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Great recipe! I didn't have some of the ingredients, but still wanted to try it, and I'm glad I did! I used orange juice instead of the wine and vinegar, and on the filling I left out the citron and added vanilla and almond extract. I rolled out the dough to 1/8" with a rolling pin and sliced it into small chips to fry. Served a few chips with a dollop of filling and sliced strawberries in a sundae glass. It was great! Looking forward to trying again with the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Made this recipe as a gift to my husband. The dough was very simple to make and the filling was delicious. I added a tiny bit of vanilla to the filling. I did not have tubes to make cannoli shells, so I improvised and cut the dough into "chips" and served them with the filling as "dip". People thought this was great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
This is a home run! Well at least the filling I had to make them fast and bought the shells didn't have the time to make the shells. I also made a second type based off of your recipe I substituted Neutella in place fo the powedered sugar and white chips... Not "AUTHENTIC" but very tasty and your awsome recipe made it possible. Also way better then the pricy ones you get here in NJ that arent very good you got to cross a bridge to get a decent cannoli at bst, but not when you have this recipe!!!! Thank you I used them as party favors went over HUGE!!!! Again a home run
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Voorhees, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States