Cannoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
What a fabbbbulous recipe! Making the dough was a piece of cake...and I was ALONE! It sounds intimidating, but one does NOT need a whole family or neighborhood to get involved, although it could be a little more fun. Firstly, I mixed all the dry ingredients in my food processor for 10 sec. (I also added 1/2 tsp of cocoa powder), then added the 3 tbsp of lard and pulsed for another 10 sec. In a separate container, I mixed all the wet ingredients and the eggs together. Through my food processor hole, I slowly added the liquid mixture while the processor was running. Once all the liquid was combined, I let the processor run for appx another minute until all the ingredients formed into a ball. Pulled the dough out, and kneaded for 2-3 min then covered with plastic and threw the dough in the fridge for an overnight rest. Voila...I bought a pasta roller attachment for my Kitchen Aid to flatten the dough and it worked like a breeze. The end result was wonderful. The cannoli had a beautiful smell from the marsala wine. I filled some of the cannolis with the ricotta filling ( I used fresh ricotta - not the impatasta bcuz I cannot find any in Quebec, Canada), and others with homemade gelato. For the ricotta filling, I also added a few tbsp of mascarpone as suggested and it gave the filling a nice smell as well. Thank you so much for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This is a good recipe, however I'm just not a fan of pure ricotta filling.. When I was a kid my grandma who was from Italy made cannoli for me on special occasions and she always used mascarpone cheese. I personally think it makes for a deeper, creamier cannoli filling, but maybe I'm just biast to grandma :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arci

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
These came out wonderful. I made my own adjustments to the ricotta filling to taste. But I followed the shell recipe exactly and it was 5 stars by itself. Really wasn't as difficult as it thought it would be. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I wanted to share how much fun my daughter and I had, making these. She found your recipe while looking for an "authentic Italian" dessert to make/contribute to her fifth grade class, for a unit they are studying. Impetuous bakelette that she is, she didn't fully read ALL your tips... We recovered. :-D She added a bit more sugar/choco-chips to the filling (MOM! My class won't LIKE it, if I DON'T!), and I fashioned the needed tubes by rolling tin foil around a small wooden rolling pin I have. PERFECT. The pastry is a bit "bready" (over kneading/rolling, as we have no pasta machine), But YUMMY, just the same. THANK YOU. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I love it!! since I dont drink alcohol, I use milk instead of masala wine and added a teaspoon of lemon zest. I also added a bit more confectioners sugar for the filling.It turned fantastic! Definietly will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camelia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I made these for a christmas work function and they were a hit. I couldn't get enough compliments on the shells. Definitely glad I had a pasta machine, I think that is the key. So light and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Tried making Canollis for the first time and it was a lot of fun. After whipping up the filling, I cut it in half and added almond extract to one, and sprinkled in freshly grated orange zest to the other one. ALSO we added almost 3 talblespoons Marscapone to the mixtures, and that really pulled it all together. Thanks for adding a great place to start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.BJW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This recipe had a nice flavor, but it was too watery. I would suggest draining the ricotta cheese overnight in a cheese cloth to get rid of the moisture. I also added Amaretto for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I just made this Jan 1, 2011 and WOW! It does take a lot longer to do alone and without a pasta machine but for a first time they were WONDERFUL! I made 34 from standard with 1 inch hole. and 4-5inch circles. I read the reviews first to see if people tried different things and the min. changes were great too. I make lots of fried dough so I went with the reviews and added 1/2 tsp of vanilla and 1/2 tsp of almond ext. after the Marasala and the shells were perfect. Fried in Veg. oil the thinner the better. For the filling, I used Ricotta Impastasta (also review recommeneded- can be hard to get-rest. might sell to you) its dry and didn't need to drain it over night. I also went with the suggestion of orange zest instead of the citron and they were delicious. I did 1/2 fill with zest and the other 1/2 chocolate chip. (which would be great with the orange zest). Note: Because I used fresh ric. impastasta from a farm I had to add a lot of confection. sugar stirring at 1/2 cup at a time (easier to mix at room temp) until I got it sweet...I ended up using 2 1/4 cup and it prob. could have used a little more but we liked it the way it was. THIS IS THE BEST RECIPE. We brought some Cannolis from local bakeries including a great Italian one and you couldnt tell which was which except diff. flavors...we actually preferred this shell to the others too. It might take be time consuming but SO WORTH the effort! YOU WONT BE DISAPPOINTED! Even the kids devoured them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I have never made cannolis before so I used this recipe for the filling. I bought my shells at an Italian gourmet shop. I doubled the amount of powdered sugar as it wasn't sweet enough for me. I also added vanilla and put in more mini choc chips. I added almonds also. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States