Cannoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Almost identical to receipe given to me years ago by a dear friend from the Boston, MA Italian community. Loranne was a marvelous "comfort food" chef and I treasure her receipes. I usually do canolli during the Christmas holiday season and give as gifts to friends and family. I use a dowel the size of a closet pole and these come out perfect! Kathy T. Hyder, AK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
My first time to make these and they came out just "perfect", even without the pasta roller! The trick is, let the dough rest for at least 2 hours. When rolling, dust the work surface with a thin coating of flour. And i used a cookie cutter for convenience. My kids LOVE it!!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef_Chris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Just made these and am very disappointed. We just returned from NYC where we had connoli in Little Italy at Cafe Palermo. They were the best and I hoped to try and duplicate them. The shell flavor is ok. I did not use a pasta roller, so I think they would have been better if I had rolled them thinnner. The filling was grainy and not sweet enough. I used whole milk ricotta and drained it overnight. Don't know what went wrong, but I could not get it close to being smooth. Finally whipped up some heavy cream and folded that in which helped some. Maybe what we had at La Paloma was not real Italian cannoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I have been making cannolis for 30+years in our Italian family. This shell recipe is just as good as mine. I give the shells 5 stars. The filling is nothing like ours. I differ in the filling as such: I use ricotta used for pastries such as cannolis called IMPASATA RICOTTA . This is what your bakeries and grocery stores in the bakery dept use. I find it in Italian pizza stores ask management to order. Best company to order from is Cisco Co but any will be good. It comes in 5 lb plastic containers and be frozen if necessary. If you do this I suggest make the filling first then freeze in batches for later use. To the ricotta I add confectionery sugar to taste and anise liquor to taste or rum liquor to taste but not both. No citron found most friends not Italian does not like. Then mini chocolate chips. Dip ends of shells in melted chocolate or gnache then in crushed pistachio nuts and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Great recipe! Delish! I just wish I had a pasta roller! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariela Does Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I used another recipe for the shells that I love, so I only made the filling, but I had to add 1-1/2 t. vanilla and tripled the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Amazing dough recipe. My pasta roller has 6 settings, next time I'll only go up to 5 and then hand roll them after cutting so that they're a little oblong. I wasn't able to deep fry, so I baked them in a convection oven @ 400 - it worked great. Dust 1 side of the shell with flour, wrap around form, then lightly brush oil on the outside with a pastry brush (I actually used the back of a spoon). Just a couple minutes and they're perfect! I also changed up the filling a bit: 2 c. warm milk + 6 Tbsp. flour (mix well & cook for 15 mintues). Cool to room temp. Add ricotta, chocolate, powdered sugar (I used 3/4 c.) + 1 Tbsp vanilla. Whip for 10 mintues w/elec. mixer Chill then fill. I didn't add citrus zest, but will next time. I'm from the east side of Detroit with a TON of Italian bakeries. Best cannoli in town is from Giuseppes and this is pretty close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
A great recipe to be sure. BUT, I find that the ricotta where I live is WAY to thin. I strained it over night in a sieve lined with a few layers of coffee filters (it's what I had on hand). and a heavy plate on top. The Cheese needs to be fairly dry and firm. Again a great recipe thank you Lydia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
well i made it :/...it wasn't that great..didn't like the filling..i think a lighter sweeter filling would have made this alot better..the dough wasn't bad though..i had to keep on rolling it so it got thin enough and fried up real nice..i will use the dough again but not the filling :o
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goldina's recipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Fantastic shell recipe, the marsala gives it an incredible flavor. We went ahead and rolled out the dough, and even with a LOT of rolling, it really isn't possible to get it perfect without a pasta machine, but it still came out really good. My only complaint is that the filling recipe neglects one very important step: drain the ricotta first! If you just follow this recipe, the filling can be very wet and it doesn't stay inside the shells, you need to strain the ricotta first to remove some liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States