Cannoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Gina
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Wow, this was a new experience for me... I received a new Kitchen Aid for Christmas and have been dying to use it and I thought this would be a great recipe to start, but I did not really need it. I also received a pasta maker that someone did not use now what a perfect time to get one of these. I followed the instructions exactly never using a pasta maker before I found that moving from one setting to the next until you get to lowest was not a good idea, when cooking these shells they were paper thin, I had to throw those away. I'm not sure if some pasta machine settings are different but the lowest setting was to thin for me. I pretty much kept the setting on 4 but I think setting 3 might have been good too. I had a hard time keeping the dough wrapped around Cannoli tubes even using the egg whites there was no definite system. The recipe said it make 30 shells but I think by the time I was done I came out with about 16 shells! But I think with practice I might get better. When it came time to make the filling I did not have the candied citron but I did use lemon zest about one lemon when I tasted the filling I could not believe how delicious it was and it tasted exactly like cannoli filling from an Italian bakery I was sooo impressed! When tasting the whole product together I felt the shells were not as crispy as they should be. This recipe was a lot of work, but a great learning experience and so much fun and I think the product tasted great and looked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I would substitute candied pineapple or a mixture of candied pineapple, green or red cherries --available at Christmas time in the grocery. The fruit keeps well unopened for a while. I do not like citron at all and would most definitely replace it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWAIN_HARTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I just made these, well rather stuffed them. next time I'll try and make my own shells. I used the mini shells. I didn't add citron, because I don't really like it, BUT I did add the tiny chocolate chips and some chopped orange peel. the filling was so simple and delicious. I made twenty and had some filling leftover (at least half) to do something else with!! thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Carrera

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
so i changed it a bit due to the fact that i did not have sweet Marsala or fruit citron. Instead of the wine, i put in a little bit of rum and added the water to make the dough. Instead of the fruit, i added grated an orange peel and lemon peel. This cannoli recipe was a hit. It's not too sweet and not boring by any means. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by normii477

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Great recipe! We used this recipe to teach a cooking class to our homeschooled children, and it turned out beautifully! The tiny thing we changed, was since we're not a fan on citron, was to just grate some lemon zest and use that....the tinest amount really went far and provided a beautiful filling. For those who said it's too wet, make sure you are using whole milk ricotta and not that part skim junk. It makes a difference. We piped the filling in and then sprinkled mini chocolate chips on the end and gave a hit with powder sugar and they were perfect! A+ assignment and easy enough a 10 yr old can make (with help frying the shells of course).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
While the recipe for the shells is alright, the filling is just off, grainy. Perhaps straining the cheese like other recipes call for or adding some vanilla might make it more palatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Almost identical to receipe given to me years ago by a dear friend from the Boston, MA Italian community. Loranne was a marvelous "comfort food" chef and I treasure her receipes. I usually do canolli during the Christmas holiday season and give as gifts to friends and family. I use a dowel the size of a closet pole and these come out perfect! Kathy T. Hyder, AK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
My first time to make these and they came out just "perfect", even without the pasta roller! The trick is, let the dough rest for at least 2 hours. When rolling, dust the work surface with a thin coating of flour. And i used a cookie cutter for convenience. My kids LOVE it!!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef_Chris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Just made these and am very disappointed. We just returned from NYC where we had connoli in Little Italy at Cafe Palermo. They were the best and I hoped to try and duplicate them. The shell flavor is ok. I did not use a pasta roller, so I think they would have been better if I had rolled them thinnner. The filling was grainy and not sweet enough. I used whole milk ricotta and drained it overnight. Don't know what went wrong, but I could not get it close to being smooth. Finally whipped up some heavy cream and folded that in which helped some. Maybe what we had at La Paloma was not real Italian cannoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I have been making cannolis for 30+years in our Italian family. This shell recipe is just as good as mine. I give the shells 5 stars. The filling is nothing like ours. I differ in the filling as such: I use ricotta used for pastries such as cannolis called IMPASATA RICOTTA . This is what your bakeries and grocery stores in the bakery dept use. I find it in Italian pizza stores ask management to order. Best company to order from is Cisco Co but any will be good. It comes in 5 lb plastic containers and be frozen if necessary. If you do this I suggest make the filling first then freeze in batches for later use. To the ricotta I add confectionery sugar to taste and anise liquor to taste or rum liquor to taste but not both. No citron found most friends not Italian does not like. Then mini chocolate chips. Dip ends of shells in melted chocolate or gnache then in crushed pistachio nuts and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States