Cannoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
This is awesome! I did not have Cannoli tubes. I use manicotti shells and they work great. Also no wine but I had cooking wine which worked fine. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tory Beth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
shell good filling needs help
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Excellent! I made it exactly as written except I did add a third of a cup of Marscapone and used the zest of 2 small oranges. It was a fun group activity for us to make at a dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
This recipe was very good. I've never made cannoli before, and I don't have cannoli tubes, so I used dowel rods cut to be four or five inches long. I couldn't get the dough to roll on the thinnest setting of the pasta machine; it kept tearing. So I kept it on setting four. Because it wasn't as thin as intended, it yielded seventeen. Instead of tongs, a spatula worked just fine, and I used freshly grated orange peel, about half a cup, instead of the candied citron. It was so good, and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gina
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Wow, this was a new experience for me... I received a new Kitchen Aid for Christmas and have been dying to use it and I thought this would be a great recipe to start, but I did not really need it. I also received a pasta maker that someone did not use now what a perfect time to get one of these. I followed the instructions exactly never using a pasta maker before I found that moving from one setting to the next until you get to lowest was not a good idea, when cooking these shells they were paper thin, I had to throw those away. I'm not sure if some pasta machine settings are different but the lowest setting was to thin for me. I pretty much kept the setting on 4 but I think setting 3 might have been good too. I had a hard time keeping the dough wrapped around Cannoli tubes even using the egg whites there was no definite system. The recipe said it make 30 shells but I think by the time I was done I came out with about 16 shells! But I think with practice I might get better. When it came time to make the filling I did not have the candied citron but I did use lemon zest about one lemon when I tasted the filling I could not believe how delicious it was and it tasted exactly like cannoli filling from an Italian bakery I was sooo impressed! When tasting the whole product together I felt the shells were not as crispy as they should be. This recipe was a lot of work, but a great learning experience and so much fun and I think the product tasted great and looked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I would substitute candied pineapple or a mixture of candied pineapple, green or red cherries --available at Christmas time in the grocery. The fruit keeps well unopened for a while. I do not like citron at all and would most definitely replace it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWAIN_HARTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I just made these, well rather stuffed them. next time I'll try and make my own shells. I used the mini shells. I didn't add citron, because I don't really like it, BUT I did add the tiny chocolate chips and some chopped orange peel. the filling was so simple and delicious. I made twenty and had some filling leftover (at least half) to do something else with!! thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Carrera

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
so i changed it a bit due to the fact that i did not have sweet Marsala or fruit citron. Instead of the wine, i put in a little bit of rum and added the water to make the dough. Instead of the fruit, i added grated an orange peel and lemon peel. This cannoli recipe was a hit. It's not too sweet and not boring by any means. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by normii477

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Great recipe! We used this recipe to teach a cooking class to our homeschooled children, and it turned out beautifully! The tiny thing we changed, was since we're not a fan on citron, was to just grate some lemon zest and use that....the tinest amount really went far and provided a beautiful filling. For those who said it's too wet, make sure you are using whole milk ricotta and not that part skim junk. It makes a difference. We piped the filling in and then sprinkled mini chocolate chips on the end and gave a hit with powder sugar and they were perfect! A+ assignment and easy enough a 10 yr old can make (with help frying the shells of course).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
While the recipe for the shells is alright, the filling is just off, grainy. Perhaps straining the cheese like other recipes call for or adding some vanilla might make it more palatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States