Cannelloni Florentine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I was sooooo disappointed. I followed the directions and a lot of the suggestions of others. I added WAY more seasoning than the recipe called for and although it smelled amazing while it was cooking it had almost no flavor. We all love cannelloni and were so excited to try this but were left wanting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Good, but lots of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Now I know why there is not a pic included, this dish looks questionable :) The filling is quite tasty despite it's looks. The sauce has potential but is way too salty. overall not a bad dish. The time to make it is not worth the final product. I might make it again if it didn't take so long for an average result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Batavia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Palm Valley, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly, except that I used manicotti pasta and ground beef. My husband is not a tomato-based sauce fan, so I did not double the sauce like some reviewers suggested. This dish is delicious! I do think it is sort of involved and time consuming...but well worth it in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Fantastic. However, I left out the spinach. Most of all, I served it with a white sauce instead of a red sauce. The white sauce tastes better with the meat filling and also it's more tradional. Don't forget the fresh nutmeg in the sauce, it makes all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daveycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I made this with Alfredo instead of with marinara as I can't stand tomatoes and that's what I normally do with Italian dishes. Other than that, I followed this. I have never stuffed cannelloni before - and apparently it just doesn't go well if you don't know what you are doing. I constantly had all the "stuffing" coming out the other end and after enough frustration, I layed the cannelloni in the dish and dolloped the mixture on top - kinda like a lasagna, if you will. So while I screwed that up ROYALLY - I did NOT screw up the flavor! It was awesome. I totally recommend the alfredo with this, too. I will try again in the future to stuff these right, but in the meantime think that I might rather just get shells and stuff those...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
WAY too much pepper! Don't use oven ready canneloni, it won't cook with this recipe. Double the sauce recipe or you won't have enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This recipe is a new favorite for my boyfriend and I. I never follow recipes exactly so I made a few changes. Beef instead of veal, instead of roasting I just fried the mixture. I also use the noodles you don't have to pre-cook. It saves a huge mess. I also don't make a tomato sauce; I just pour a can or two of ground tomatoes over and it works great. Such a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Great recipe. I had to muck with it a bit, but only because my family eats low-carb. So, I used crepes instead of canneloni shells, omitted the carrots and replaced them with crimini mushrooms. I also used crushed tomatos in place of romas, but that's just because I was feeling lazy. It turned out brilliantly, though. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeannine1976

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
I started making this recipe a couple of years ago. My ex husband and I were at Spaghetti Warehouse and he had their Cannelloni Florentine. He loved it and wanted me to make it for him. So we found this recipe on here and since then I have made it probably about 30 times. It quickly become a well loved treat in our family. I do a couple of things different. 1: I use sugar in the sauce and I triple the batch. I add just enough to give a sweet taste. 2: I add extra cream and cheeses. 3: When it is all done cooking I sprinkle Mozzarella cheese all over it and let it cook about 5 minutes more. Just enough time for the cheese to melt. I serve it with Fettucine Alfredo and garlic cheese bread. I highly recommend this recipe. You will fall in love with it. I have made it so many times that I don't have to follow the recipe anymore. Thanks Mistie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mistie Dawn Boyd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pesto Chicken Florentine

Tender chicken served with penne pasta in a creamy spinach and pesto sauce.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States