Cannellini Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Made as is. Awesome recipe for those of us trying to incorporate more vegetarian into our diets. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This is a nice, colorful and healthy salad. It does need to sit to let the flavors meld. It's really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Great combination! I definitely let this sit overnight for the best flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon A

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catonsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: West Friendship, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I was somewhat surprised and disappointed with this, especially since it is a simple recipe with ingredients I like and the basic olive oil and vinegar dressing I like - and even though I modified that dressing to the 3:1 oil to vinegar ratio I prefer. I would have liked a lighter, white wine vinegar with this or even lemon juice. Also, this is rather flat tasting and even after adding copious amounts of garlic pepper and extra salt it still was rather one dimensional. It's pretty, I'll give it that, and definitiely healthy, but it could use a little tinkering, at least for my tastes. In addition to a 3:1 ratio of oil to vinegar, I'd use less of the dressing overall. A little garlic power or VERY finely minced garlic might add a burst of flavor. Also, this needs some contrast in textures, since the beans and the roasted peppers are both mushy. Some sliced celery would give it some crunch and sliced fennel might be interesting. Unfortunately, this salad will probaby end up toward the back of the refrigerator shelf, kind of forgotten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Easy to make and delicious! A great salad to bring to a potlatch. Didn't have a red onion so substituted a regular one and it still tasted good. Doesn't make a ton, so I'd double it if serving to a group larger than four. Very flavorful, though not as much the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathertup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Wonderful and very fresh for the summer time. I used Roasted Red Peppers in a jar and it came out great. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
LOVED this bean salad. Easy, nutritious and delicious. I substituted finely chopped sweet vidalia for the red onion, added some finely minced fresh garlic and increased the proportions of beans and dressing. The colors are beautiful and the fresh basil is so delicious. I did go the lazy route and used jarred roasted red peppers which I diced, rather than cut in strips. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orofino, Idaho, USA
Living In: North Berwick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
I made this and added diced raw zucchini, crumbled feta, diced white onion (instead of red), diced fresh red pepper (instead of roasted) and chopped celery; added two cloves crushed garlic to the dressing and doubled the oil/vinegar to compensate for all the additional ingredients. It was delish! The cheese really adds a nice flavor to it. I think it will become one of my new lunchtime salad recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This is a great base recipe to use as a pallet to make something that suits your taste buds. I used one can canellini and one can red kidney beans and the roasted peppers from the jar. I also added 1 tsp of minced garlic from the jar. Made it at night and had it with lunch the next day...GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
This was quite tasty. I normally don't alter a recipe at all the first time, but I didn't roast the peppers, and omitted onions and I also used white wine vinegar. It was good like this, but I must admit, if I had roasted the pepper and added onion, it would have definitely been a 5 star :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States