Canned Apple Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
REally good...i did add 1 more tsp of cinn. and 1/4 tsp more of nutmeg...dont know really if that made any difference...it was good though...i also used.."Easy Pie Crust from phillsbury bake off" and really....i havent ever made any good pies before.....they always turned out dry and never finished..always had to toss...but this one was all eaten up :) thank you for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Janesville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Just finished canning 21 quarts of granny smiths using this recipe. I took the advice of other reviewers and doubled the spices and omitted the food coloring. All three batches were beautiful. One quart didn't pop so I made a pie and it was perfect. Much easier than other pie filling recipes - and just as great tasting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Simply a mess. Do not attempt to can anything and I repeat ANYTHING with cornstarch or flour. You will have a big oozy mess on your hands (and kitchen floor for that matter). Tasted ok though :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
I made a full batch and a couple of days later made 2 pies. The were great and it was simple to do when I used Krusteaz pie crust mix. Practically no mess to clean up. I am in the process of making another batch since I have a large supply of Granny Smith Apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
This was so easy and absolutely wonderful! It's the best apple pie filling I have ever tasted in my life! I did change it a bit by using 1/2 apple juice instead of all water. It is wonderfully thick and so flavorful. Thank you so much for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This recipe was awesome. I didn't add the yellow food coloring and added a 1/8 tsp of cloves since we like our apples with a little spice. When baked in a pie the apples stay crisp and the syrup and spice taste GREAT! I will be using the recipe for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bastion

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
My husband and I made this for the first time last night and we followed the recipe exactly! It is great! I didn't change and wouldn't change anything. We just ate it shortly after we canned the apples--I'm sure these apples would be wonderful with ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I used this recipe making a batch early this apple season. I then tried it out in a pie. Wonderful, perfect pie was the result. It got rave reviews. I have made it two more times already. I did find that 1 quart jar doesn't make as big a pie as I like, so I also make some pints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I haven't eaten any of this yet, but it looks really good. I think I put too much nutmeg in it, however. I'm looking forward to trying it on cheesecake (autumn cheesecake from this site is 10 stars). I also used apples from a neighbors tree and they were small so peeling took a couple hours. next time it's large apples and having some help would be the key to speeding up this tedious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I'd give 4 1/2 stars if I could figure out how. Made the first batch cold pack using Gala apples fresh from the orchard with increased spices (not apple pie spice). Instead of slicing the apples I chunked them becuz I want a non-pie dessert and some crunch. Pretty good. This time I'm using clear gel instead of cornstarch and I'll see how that does. I'm trying to recreate an apple dessert that is in a frozen dinner I had as a kid. I still can't get the basic sauce as cinnamon-y as I want despite increased amts of ground & whole cinnamon, allspice and cloves. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States