Canned Apple Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
This recipe was easier than I thought it would be. This was my first time making apple pie filling, and yum!! Thank you for sharing this recipe, desserts will be sweeter now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheryl n

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolivar, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I'm not overly impressed. I think I'll stick with canning chunky cinnamon applesauce, and freezing my apple pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Cornstarch is not safe to add to canned items. You must use Clear Jel, a modified starch that is safe for canning. Cornstarch doesn't allow for consistant heat penentration that is needed for safe canning. Look it up in a modern Ball book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Very delicious apple pie filling. A friend gave us a couple of bags of apples and this was our first time trying to can them. Very good recipe as is and easy to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Did 10 Qts of this and it looks great! I also canned a quart of the syrup, not sure why but I'm sure it will come in handy. Can't wait to make a pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I came across this recipe and we just had to try it. We followed it exactly. I used a mixture of apples including honey crisp. They make an excellent pie btw. All in all we like the recipe, but we feel that the syrup is a little to sweet and next time we will cut down on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Hocking, Ohio, USA
Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Perfect! Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I have made this 2 years in a row now. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
When my friend and I make apple pie filling we use apple juice instead of water. It turns out wonderful every time! Happy canning ladies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Amazing! My whole family loves it. My husband asked me to do more, I had done 21 already. Do be careful not to fill the jars too full. A friend shared a similar recipe with me and it said fill jar 3/4 full. I have found you can put a little more than that but not much. I always have a little bit of the syrup left over so I made a pie using it and fresh apples. Like others I added 1 Tbsp of cinnamon and about 1-2 tsp of nutmeg. 1 jar will make a 9" deep dish pie, so maybe I pack my apples tighter than most. 1 reviewer wrote to boil the 8 cups of water with everything but the lemon juice and cornstarch. Mix the other 2 cups of water w/ the cornstarch and lemon juice. When the sugar mixture is boiling add the cornstarch mixture until you no longer see the white of the cornstarch. I did the last batch this way and it was thicker than the others. I am not sure if the extra step is worth it but if your syrup is not thick enough try it this way. 1 reviewer said do not use Red Delicious. That is the kind of tree we have so that is what I used. We all loved it. I guess it is a personal choice but do not shy away from using Red Delicious. Thanks for a GREAT recipe and all the tips from other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hillsborough, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States