Canned Apple Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Wonderful flavor. I made two batches, and the second batch came out better because I really packed the apples in the jars. The first batch I didn't do that so the sauce-to-fruit ratio was waaay off. Rather than use those to make a pie, I just poured some of the excess sauce off when I opened the jar, and warmed the apples in a skillet with a little butter. Yummy! A happy mistake, fabulous with baked ham. If the sauce thickens too much to easily cover the apples in the jars, add a little water until it loosens a bit and it'll pour right over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
SUPER easy, was my second thing I ever canned and everyone loves it. We have already used it on ice cream and pancakes. Highly recomend this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Cornstarch is no longer considered safe for canning by the USDA. Additionally it calls for food coloring which will not hold up over time. The processing time for quarts should be 25 minutes. This time comes from 3 safe to can pie filling recipes. Please use a recipe that call for Clear Jel which is a modified corn starh that the USDA has tested ad found to be safe for canning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This is so good! I'm gojng to put some up in pints for pancake/waffle topping for Christmas gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Shandorf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Very good! Make sure to pack your jar with apples or you will get an excess of syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
By far, this rating is the most accurate of all of the recipes I have tried from this site.I have done a lot of canning and baking and I loved this recipe. Perfect consistency, and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
This recipe was easier than I thought it would be. This was my first time making apple pie filling, and yum!! Thank you for sharing this recipe, desserts will be sweeter now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheryl n

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolivar, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I'm not overly impressed. I think I'll stick with canning chunky cinnamon applesauce, and freezing my apple pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Cornstarch is not safe to add to canned items. You must use Clear Jel, a modified starch that is safe for canning. Cornstarch doesn't allow for consistant heat penentration that is needed for safe canning. Look it up in a modern Ball book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Very delicious apple pie filling. A friend gave us a couple of bags of apples and this was our first time trying to can them. Very good recipe as is and easy to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States