Canned Apple Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Makes the best apple crisp EVER. I always add extra spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Great little recipe with great flavor when using tart pie apples. Do leave 1 inch head space though, as it will ooze out and possibly not seal properly during the water bath. I made it twice so far and only got 6 quarts each time. I also tried what another reviewer suggested and added the corn starch mixed into 2 cups out of the original 10 cups of water. Then after heating the sugar and spices in the 8 cups of liquid I added the corn starch mixture, and only stirred until the whiteness disappeared. This flowed much better into the air pockets. The water bath cooks it the rest of the way. The only thing I did then was to invert the jars (after they sealed themselves) until they were almost cool and then turned them upright again. The apples tend to float to the top with this method and I like to see them evenly distributed in the jel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
I tried this recipe and wish I hadn't... I found out after that cornstarch isn't recommended for canning. I spent a lot of money picking apples for pie filling and was so disappointed. The cornstarch can't stand up to the high heat needed to can. My apples were delicious but the syrup was like cold gravy! I wish I made just applesauce. I had to use all my pie filling as a topping and not for pies. Follow the recipe but use Clearjel the cooking type not instant and the food coloring isn't needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
This is a fabulous apple pie filling recipe. It's pretty easy. I didn't make the entire recipe. I adjusted it to 16 servings which made a nice size 'filled' 9 inch apple pie. Everyone loved the filling. About as close to the store/bakery versions as you can get made right at home. Thanks for the recipe, I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I made this recipe a couple of years ago and it was wonderful. I decided to make Apple Pie cookies (a recipe I saw on Pinterest) for Christmas this year and did not have any Apple pie filling, I had to buy it at the store. I will not make the mistake of not canning my own again! The pie filling at the store was almost $4 for a small can of filling! I will be doing my own from now on!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I ended up throwing all my 14 quarts away, luckily, I unscrewed the rings before I gave them away as gifts. They must have overflowed during processing because the inner bands had black mold around them. Will try once more and only fill jars to 1 inch or below.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Sooooooo delicious!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CandyR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly and this fall I must, must buy more apples! One of the best and easiest recipes I've ever done! Used it in pies, crisps, on top of crepes and waffles and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Turned out great. Even after a year in the pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Minus the food coloring this is the same recipe my MIL gave me when I started canning. We make at least a batch of this every year. I usually add the sauce before the apples to the jars. It's just over 2 cups per jar and then fill with apples and process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States