Canned Apple Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I have used this recipe a few times. I think it turns out great. I do use Penzy's apple pie spice and it turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Thanks for the awesome recipe....it worked perfectly!! I would have given it a five but I had to tweak a couple of things. First off, I filled up my big bowl w/ sliced apples (I have no idea how many pounds that was), added all the dry ingredients except for the cornstarch and two cups of water (which I mixed separately to remove all clumps), added the cornstarch mix to that and boiled. I also added an extra tsp of cinnamon and also 1/4 tsp of both ground cloves and allspice; as I like other reviewers also like my apple pie with more spice. Cooked that concoction up until it was bubbly and the white from the cornstarch disappeared. Packed the apples in my clean, sterilized jars, added the yummy sauce (I also left approx one inch from the top) and processed in my pressure cooker. Worked perfectly-thanks again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I have made this recipe for years. It's so handy to make a quick pie and my family loves them. I don't know about cornstarch being dangerous. It will get a bit strange looking over time in the bottle but it isn't spoiled and tastes just fine when baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Easy, quick. Follow directions to the letter. After canning, you just pour the canned filling into an unbaked crust. You will have apple pie in no time without all the fuss!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Worked really well for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA
Living In: West Bend, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This was an excellent recipe. I found it to be very simple to make. Red Delicious apples worked fine in it. I also increased the cinnamon and absolutely loved it. I used it 3 days later in an apple pie---delicious!!! Great recipe and thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I have used this recipe before and it makes wonderful surprise for Holiday gifts just give a note on the pie crust and top with a note and they will enjoy... terry b Eastman,ga
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
The headspace on this is completly wrong !!! I filled the headspace to the half inch required and when they came out of the canner they were exploding from thier jars . Resulting in a very nasty burn ! Keep it to an inch and up the spices and lower the required water to 8 1/2 cups. DO NOT USE CORNSTARCH !! Order clear gel from the intranet, cornstarch is not recommended by the USDA. Be sfe and avoid burns and botulism !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Peter
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
While I have not made a pie with this filling to date, I did just prepare the filling. You do need to be careful of the level the jars are filled, and I found that the sauce took quite a while to heat up and thicken....use some short cuts if you can.I did increase the cinnamon and nutmeg to the level I would use for a single pie, as well as substituted some brown sugar for white.(1 1/2 c) Looking forward to trying a pie now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athabasca, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 21-30 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States