Canned Apple Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I'd give 4 1/2 stars if I could figure out how. Made the first batch cold pack using Gala apples fresh from the orchard with increased spices (not apple pie spice). Instead of slicing the apples I chunked them becuz I want a non-pie dessert and some crunch. Pretty good. This time I'm using clear gel instead of cornstarch and I'll see how that does. I'm trying to recreate an apple dessert that is in a frozen dinner I had as a kid. I still can't get the basic sauce as cinnamon-y as I want despite increased amts of ground & whole cinnamon, allspice and cloves. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
My family really likes the taste, but I question why you need two quartes for one 9" pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This is so yummy! I did do a little tweeking myself. Only used 2 cups white suger, 1 c. brown, used apple juice instead of water, 3 t. cinnamon, 1/2 t. nutmeg & 1/4 t. allspice. It has a carmely taste with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Should have read reviews first that said it only made 6 quarts! Not 7..... Great recipe for my first time canning apple pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
The Pie recipe is great, but the USDA does not approve cornstarch when canning. So great to eat it now but not to can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pastries22

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: St. George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
This was great! I think that I used more apples than called for, I just used an empty qt jar and filled it up 7 times with the cut apples, that worked great. I had one jar that did not seal, so we ate it right away on ice cream and it is GREAT!! Will certainly be doing more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
perfect and easy. did the spice variations like other reviewers suggested and was great. apples are crisp however, so that you don't end up with a crappy pie that has a mushy apple filling! YUCKY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAIROTAIVA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This was the first year I have canned apple pie filling. This is great,and my apple pie loving husband will be glad I did.I think the flavor is great.Thank You for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I followed the recipe to the letter and my jars overflowed even while processing. I left and inch of headspace. Ive refrigerated the jars because i don't want to throw the filling out. should i rejar it and reprocess it? any advice would be helpful. thank you. I absolutely love this recipe! the flavor is fantastic and i don't want to give up on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I followed the directions of "naturalsugar" below and it turned out very well. It made exactly 7 quarts although it took more than 6 lbs of apples. I didn't weight the extra, I just kept peeling as I needed them. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States