Canned Apple Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
torn between 4.5 and 5 stars.... the only reason is that... it's alot of sugar... I may next time reduce the granulated sugar and add some brown sugar, trial and error... but as the recipe stands - too sweet.... otherwise... I was hesitant in making the syrup and know that you can buy pre-made syrup (not sure of the difference) as apposed to using regular cornstarch... but... seriously... don't waste your money on the expensive corn starches. I used the loblaws stuff in the yellow box with black writing and it was no different I am sure if I had used the more expensive cornstarch. Just make sure you mix all the dry ingredients really well. I measured and added the liquid component in a separate pan though and then poured it all into the sugar mixture in one go and stirred like crazy... corn starch is hard to work with hence why I think mixing it thoroughly made a difference... it took a while on the convection at high temp to finally get some boil LOL.... but that may have been attributed to a very heavy weighted pot base *shrug*.... eitherway, you need to work very fast. I actually used Bernardin Fruit Fresh once I had peeled the apples and made another bath with the same Fruit Fresh once I had sliced the apples so that they didn't go brown. That stuff worked a treat.... I had close to 2.5 pounds of apples and I still have 1/2 the syrup left over so I will be buying more granny smith apples tomorrow and using the rest. I used 8 500ml jars and I am sure I can use the same
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
This was a fabulous recipee but I would cut back on the sugar next time. I don't like to adulterate the goodness of the apples and to me this did. Loved the amount of spices though. Also, would use this recipee again but think I would heed the warnings of the people who said not to use corn starch to can with and I would use the clear jel. It did do 7 quarts exactly for me. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Hartke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Really great recipe, flavor, texture, it all worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenny Aleman
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
I had tons of apples that needed some cooking. This recipe was perfect for it! It's the first time I can apple pie filling and was a very enjoyable process. The flavor of the syrup is fantastic so I'm sure I'll bake very tasty pies or empanadas. I used two cups of the water to mix the corn starch and then added the mix to the rest of the water. The color of the syrup is perfect so I didn't add the food coloring.I also soaked the apples in water with lemon to avoid oxidation. I'm pleased with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Aleman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I make this recipe every year :)It is so simple an easy . I only change a few things I use a bit less water and a bit more spice :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Lea Blaine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Worked out good used half reg. sugar and half cooking slenda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardell Stackpole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I added Dried Cranberries, and used lime instead of lemon. No reason.. We didn't have lemons and I wasn't going to the store. This was just what I was looking for, Thank you for posting it. :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie :0)
Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I used about 12 pounds of apples and made 8 quarts of filling with the same amount of all other ingredients. The apples shrink while processing and let off some off their juices. I ended up with a nice amount of fruit and plenty of filling in each quart. I would not use 6 pounds of apples, it just wouldn't be enough. Also, food coloring? I left that out, completely unnecessary and unappetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Kusel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
yummy and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Yes, I have tried this recipe. My mother-in-law loved it so much we got more apples this year and plan on a yearly tradition of making this pie filling. She is very old school and amazed that she liked it so well. Very tasty and convenient to use. Use a tart apple if wanting more stark flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States