Canja Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
very good BUT 3 pounds of chicken for just 6 servings is way toooooo much. that is almost double a normal portion of meat; and this doesn't even include the ham. I used about 1.5 pounds of chicken; when I added this recipe to DietPower using the revised amount of chicken the calories dropped by almost 200. My other change was using cilantro instead of parsley--only because it was what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Albans, Vermont, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Turned out great but as a good Brazilian I rather stick to the original version which does not include ham and tomato! Sometimes fewer ingredients result in a better flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Wonderful !! I used leftover chicken and leftover ham. Did not have fresh tomatoes; so added some homemade canned stewed tomatoes from the garden. We absolutely loved this and was easy to prepare for a busy day. There are leftovers for tomorrow; soup always tastes better the next day. Thanks for adding a new soup recipe for us, CORWYNN DARKHOLME!! This a keeper and one that will be used many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Just like I remember it, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Delicious, easy soup recipe. It is pretty much a basic chicken soup recipe, but the flavor is awesome with the ham. 2 1/2 pounds of chicken is plenty. It needs more rice - 1/2 cup is perfect. I like to double the parsely to 2 T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Lovely....but. It's just chicken soup! With a sexy name and the promise of Brazillian flavours, I was expecting something magical to happen with the chicken, rice, veg and ham. But it just cooked up into a tasty (but regular) chicken soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
just to thank you for this amazingly simple and delicious soup! i dont eat pork so had to leave it out but even without it , the soup was wholesome and satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ariani ray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
This chicken soup is great! It's a little different from the ordinary, which is just up my alley. I think the fresh parsley is what makes it taste so great. The fresh tomatoes are great, too, better than canned. I follow this recipe exactly, except I don't bother to make sure I have exactly 3 lbs. of chicken. A little less doesn't make any difference. It's just a matter of preference, really, as is the amount of ham. Just don't substitute or leave out the fresh parsley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Two thumbs up! My subs: I used one pkg of chicken (~1.5 lbs) - this seemed like plenty. I did double up the ham to please my meat-loving fiance. I also subbed a can of diced tomatoes for the fresh (though in retrospect I think the fresh would have been much better.) Overall, I think this soup took almost 2 hours from pot to table. Next time I'll increase the rice and use cilantro for the parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bubilina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Good the first day, AWESOME the next. Make it the day before so the flavors will blend better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States