Candy'D Sweet Potato Cupcakes with Brown Sugar Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I'm rating just the frosting on this one. I will try the cupcakes soon. I like the frosting, but I will tell you it is very sweet at fist. Let the frosting and cakes cool completely or it will be overwhelmingly sweet. Also, you can use salted butter if you have no salt butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Awesome cupcakes ! This was my first time making these and I didn't change a thing. Delicious! I will absolutely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Fantastic and sweet muffins! The caramel topping might even be a little too much sweetness, although they were great with it. The spices completed each other and the texture was just dreamy. I will absolutely make these again, I might just adjust the sweetness a bit (3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Turku, Varsinais-Suomi, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Cupcakes came out decent, they were moist, but they seemed a bit dense (not fluffy cake like) - Maybe I added too much sweet potato. Plus I adjusted the serving size for 24 and only got 18 cupcakes out of it?! Not sure what happened there either. I had to make them small to even get 18, so if I made them a normal size it would have been less. The icing I completely screwed up. When I went to go add the brown sugar mixture to the powdered sugar it got all lumpy. Maybe I didn't do it when it was hot enough. It was a mess, so I had to throw it all out and make another cream cheese frosting that I was familiar with. I added some cinnamin and toasted pecans on top and they came out pretty tasty, but don't think I'll be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I made these cupcakes and was surprised that they were fairly easy and tasted amazing. I left out the orange zest but kept the orange juice. I did however have a problem with the frosting - I felt it tasted too much like butterscotch so I ended up making a traditional buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lembed
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
PERFECT in every way! So moist, so yummy, so Fall-ish. Only thing I did different was added a dollop of marshmallow cream to the cupcakes as soon as I pulled them from the oven. Once, cooled, I iced them. I didnt have "fall" liners this time. Next time, I will.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This recipe is very moist and has a great taste. I took some to work and within the hour they were all gone. They taste just as good with the icing as without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Great, Reduce spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker Ray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Great recipe!!!! I had a bake off with my friends for labor day and destroyed them lol Great cupcake and awesome icing :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Excellent cupcakes. I half expected these to be more like muffin consistency but it was more like a carrot cake. The texture was definitely cake-y and very moist. The taste was great except it was a bit heavy on the orange for me so next time i'll add less zest. I added fresh cranberries to 1/2 the mix because i had some left over and i really enjoyed the tartness. Also i had to bake these quite a bit longer (but i always seem to have to increase baking time for anything with pumpkin or sweet potato). Overall a great and new dessert for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States