Candy Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
This is one of the best ice cream recipes out there! I took the advice of a fellow reviewer and substituted half the sugar for peanut butter and it was fantastic!! Also, Fat-Free Sweetened Condensed Milk works fine and you can even use Fat-Free Half & Half in a pinch...although the consistancy ends up being a little more icy...but delicious all the same!! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2001
If you like Ben and Jerry's...this recipe is right up there!! Very sweet and delicious!! Try it, you'll love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2002
This is an excellent ice cream recipe! The ingredient list is so short, I thought it would turn out bad, but I was so wrong. I used this recipe on my first attempt at using my ice cream maker and it was a hit. I did slightly modify the recipe by using both chopped candy bars and about 15 Oreo cookies. All I can say is...MMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOBBIBRIDGERS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newport, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
Excellent and easy! We used crumbled peanut butter cups in this and it was perfect. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
Really love this because you can put almost any type of candy in it and it comes out just great! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
I don't have an ice cream maker and this recipie turned out really good. I think next time I would use 1/2 the sugar or no sugar at all because it is very sweet. I'm going to make it all the time! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
This was excellent! We ate it straight from the ice cream maker and my husband said it was like a Blizzard. The next day, after freezing a while longer, it was a creamy frozen consistency, more like traditional hard ice cream. Both days it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2003
I loved this idea! I did it with the neighborhood kids and they thought it was great too. It took longer than suggested to actually freeze up enough to scoop, but the kids didn't seem to mind. The icecream was really good too. A definite keeper for me as well as the other Mothers in the neighborhood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYCAKES291

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
So, I saw this and had to try it! Background:I went to undergrad at West Virginia University- Go Mountaineers!!!!!!!!!!! and they had their own dairy. At the ice cream shop in the student center they sold York Peppermint Patty Ice Cream. So good. So using nonfat sweetened condensed milk, whipped topping and 1% milk, I made this in a 2 quart container- I added less milk than called for. I also only added 1/2 x. of sugar. I used half of a bag of peppermint patties cut into small pieces. Its wonderful!!! Next time I will use a whole bag and will leave the peppermint patties in big chunks. Very easy without an ice cream maker but I will have my maker set up next time to try this again. Cheaper than buying Breyers and Im sure healthier. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAWGODESSS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA
Living In: Prince George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
Great recipe! I substituted oreo cookie pieces for M&Ms and got great results. This recipe made more than my ice cream maker could handle, so I kept 1/2 the mixture in the frige until I was ready to use it. Both batches turned out great! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WDSCULLY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States