Candy Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
I had my doubts that this recipe was going to make a decent ice cream. The taste and texture were great! It was a bit on the sweet side so next time I will either leave out the sugar or at least cut it in half. My biggest problem with this recipe was the fact that I could not get it to freeze in my ice cream maker. I finally gave up and put the whole thing in the freezer and after about five hours, it was finally done. It may just be my ice cream maker, but since I was able to get it frozen by just using my home freezer, this would be great for someone that does not actually have an ice cream maker. The first time I made it, I was not able to add the full two cups of milk. This resulted in a great taste, but the texture was like marshmallow fluff. The second time I was able to fix that problem I added the full two cups of milk and stired it into the whipped topping/condensed milk mixture before I poured it into the freezer. I made a peanut butter cup version for my husband by using ony 1/2 cup of sugar, 1/2 cup of peanut butter, and a 10 pack of the individually wrapped Reses Peanut Butter Cups cut into small pieces. He said it was better than the stuff you get at the store or ice cream parlour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
I really like this recipe because you can make it totally fat free without it tasting fat free; just use fat free whipped cream, fat free condensed milk and skim milk, then throw in frozen fruit instead of candy. I also leave out the cup of sugar because I think it's sweet enough without it. Even my husband likes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I made this with the following changes: Cool whip free, 1 quart fat free half and half, and used 2% lowfat milk and left out the candy.... it was very good! One of the best homeade Icecream recipes I have ever tried and I have tried many!! and it is very easy too!!! This one is a keeper for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brandon, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
This is one of the best ice cream recipes out there! I took the advice of a fellow reviewer and substituted half the sugar for peanut butter and it was fantastic!! Also, Fat-Free Sweetened Condensed Milk works fine and you can even use Fat-Free Half & Half in a pinch...although the consistancy ends up being a little more icy...but delicious all the same!! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I made this recipe exactly as stated. The ice cream wouldn't freeze in my Kitchen-Aid Ice Cream Maker which was okay. I just mixed it well and then put it into the freezer. I like that the ice cream stays soft instead of hardening. I think the name of this ice cream should be changed to Sweet Cream because this is very sweet. It tastes like cold marshmallow fluff. I would recommend reducing the white sugar in the recipe. I stirred peanut butter and chopped Reeses's and chocolate syrup into my bowl of ice cream and that helped to mask the high sweetness. If you are going to make this, reduce the sugar and then add peanut butter and Reese's for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
This was excellent! We ate it straight from the ice cream maker and my husband said it was like a Blizzard. The next day, after freezing a while longer, it was a creamy frozen consistency, more like traditional hard ice cream. Both days it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2001
I like the basic ingredients for this recipe, and I modified it to make peanut butter ice cream. Use the whipped topping, sweetened condensed milk, and regular milk, and add 3/4 cup of peanut butter. That's it! It keeps its' creamy texture even when frozen hard. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
YUM! Very tasty. Made this with chopped mini peanut butter cups and a half of a cup of creamy peanut butter. Perfect recipe for creating your favorite candy ice cream concoction. The texture was creamy and fluffy. I look forward to making this again with brownies and someday with chocolate creme filled cookies. The possibilites are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
So, I saw this and had to try it! Background:I went to undergrad at West Virginia University- Go Mountaineers!!!!!!!!!!! and they had their own dairy. At the ice cream shop in the student center they sold York Peppermint Patty Ice Cream. So good. So using nonfat sweetened condensed milk, whipped topping and 1% milk, I made this in a 2 quart container- I added less milk than called for. I also only added 1/2 x. of sugar. I used half of a bag of peppermint patties cut into small pieces. Its wonderful!!! Next time I will use a whole bag and will leave the peppermint patties in big chunks. Very easy without an ice cream maker but I will have my maker set up next time to try this again. Cheaper than buying Breyers and Im sure healthier. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAWGODESSS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA
Living In: Prince George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2002
This is an excellent ice cream recipe! The ingredient list is so short, I thought it would turn out bad, but I was so wrong. I used this recipe on my first attempt at using my ice cream maker and it was a hit. I did slightly modify the recipe by using both chopped candy bars and about 15 Oreo cookies. All I can say is...MMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOBBIBRIDGERS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newport, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States