Candy Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2001
I like the basic ingredients for this recipe, and I modified it to make peanut butter ice cream. Use the whipped topping, sweetened condensed milk, and regular milk, and add 3/4 cup of peanut butter. That's it! It keeps its' creamy texture even when frozen hard. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2001
If you like Ben and Jerry's...this recipe is right up there!! Very sweet and delicious!! Try it, you'll love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2002
This is an excellent ice cream recipe! The ingredient list is so short, I thought it would turn out bad, but I was so wrong. I used this recipe on my first attempt at using my ice cream maker and it was a hit. I did slightly modify the recipe by using both chopped candy bars and about 15 Oreo cookies. All I can say is...MMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOBBIBRIDGERS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newport, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
Excellent and easy! We used crumbled peanut butter cups in this and it was perfect. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
Really love this because you can put almost any type of candy in it and it comes out just great! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
I really like this recipe because you can make it totally fat free without it tasting fat free; just use fat free whipped cream, fat free condensed milk and skim milk, then throw in frozen fruit instead of candy. I also leave out the cup of sugar because I think it's sweet enough without it. Even my husband likes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
I had my doubts that this recipe was going to make a decent ice cream. The taste and texture were great! It was a bit on the sweet side so next time I will either leave out the sugar or at least cut it in half. My biggest problem with this recipe was the fact that I could not get it to freeze in my ice cream maker. I finally gave up and put the whole thing in the freezer and after about five hours, it was finally done. It may just be my ice cream maker, but since I was able to get it frozen by just using my home freezer, this would be great for someone that does not actually have an ice cream maker. The first time I made it, I was not able to add the full two cups of milk. This resulted in a great taste, but the texture was like marshmallow fluff. The second time I was able to fix that problem I added the full two cups of milk and stired it into the whipped topping/condensed milk mixture before I poured it into the freezer. I made a peanut butter cup version for my husband by using ony 1/2 cup of sugar, 1/2 cup of peanut butter, and a 10 pack of the individually wrapped Reses Peanut Butter Cups cut into small pieces. He said it was better than the stuff you get at the store or ice cream parlour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
This sounded better than it came out. It was too sweet for most of our tastes, even the sugar addict (our son). We used the little M&M's (candy coated chocolate) and the colored shells quickly melted into the ice cream, making everything a light brown. It came out like an ice-milk using 1% milk. If I were to make it again, I'd definitely reduce the sugar...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
I don't have an ice cream maker and this recipie turned out really good. I think next time I would use 1/2 the sugar or no sugar at all because it is very sweet. I'm going to make it all the time! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States