Candy Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
Great recipe! I substituted oreo cookie pieces for M&Ms and got great results. This recipe made more than my ice cream maker could handle, so I kept 1/2 the mixture in the frige until I was ready to use it. Both batches turned out great! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WDSCULLY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
So, I saw this and had to try it! Background:I went to undergrad at West Virginia University- Go Mountaineers!!!!!!!!!!! and they had their own dairy. At the ice cream shop in the student center they sold York Peppermint Patty Ice Cream. So good. So using nonfat sweetened condensed milk, whipped topping and 1% milk, I made this in a 2 quart container- I added less milk than called for. I also only added 1/2 x. of sugar. I used half of a bag of peppermint patties cut into small pieces. Its wonderful!!! Next time I will use a whole bag and will leave the peppermint patties in big chunks. Very easy without an ice cream maker but I will have my maker set up next time to try this again. Cheaper than buying Breyers and Im sure healthier. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAWGODESSS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA
Living In: Prince George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2003
I loved this idea! I did it with the neighborhood kids and they thought it was great too. It took longer than suggested to actually freeze up enough to scoop, but the kids didn't seem to mind. The icecream was really good too. A definite keeper for me as well as the other Mothers in the neighborhood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYCAKES291

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
This is one of the best ice cream recipes out there! I took the advice of a fellow reviewer and substituted half the sugar for peanut butter and it was fantastic!! Also, Fat-Free Sweetened Condensed Milk works fine and you can even use Fat-Free Half & Half in a pinch...although the consistancy ends up being a little more icy...but delicious all the same!! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
This was excellent! We ate it straight from the ice cream maker and my husband said it was like a Blizzard. The next day, after freezing a while longer, it was a creamy frozen consistency, more like traditional hard ice cream. Both days it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
I don't have an ice cream maker and this recipie turned out really good. I think next time I would use 1/2 the sugar or no sugar at all because it is very sweet. I'm going to make it all the time! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
This sounded better than it came out. It was too sweet for most of our tastes, even the sugar addict (our son). We used the little M&M's (candy coated chocolate) and the colored shells quickly melted into the ice cream, making everything a light brown. It came out like an ice-milk using 1% milk. If I were to make it again, I'd definitely reduce the sugar...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
I had my doubts that this recipe was going to make a decent ice cream. The taste and texture were great! It was a bit on the sweet side so next time I will either leave out the sugar or at least cut it in half. My biggest problem with this recipe was the fact that I could not get it to freeze in my ice cream maker. I finally gave up and put the whole thing in the freezer and after about five hours, it was finally done. It may just be my ice cream maker, but since I was able to get it frozen by just using my home freezer, this would be great for someone that does not actually have an ice cream maker. The first time I made it, I was not able to add the full two cups of milk. This resulted in a great taste, but the texture was like marshmallow fluff. The second time I was able to fix that problem I added the full two cups of milk and stired it into the whipped topping/condensed milk mixture before I poured it into the freezer. I made a peanut butter cup version for my husband by using ony 1/2 cup of sugar, 1/2 cup of peanut butter, and a 10 pack of the individually wrapped Reses Peanut Butter Cups cut into small pieces. He said it was better than the stuff you get at the store or ice cream parlour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
I really like this recipe because you can make it totally fat free without it tasting fat free; just use fat free whipped cream, fat free condensed milk and skim milk, then throw in frozen fruit instead of candy. I also leave out the cup of sugar because I think it's sweet enough without it. Even my husband likes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States