Candy Corn Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I loved this recipe! And more importantly, so did everyone at work! I used orange colored sugar to decorate the cupcakes, and I had made a simple white butter cream. I didn't have any issues with making the two colors - I made the orange, made the yellow, and poured respectively into two different Mason jars with reCAP Mason Jars pour caps. It makes it very easy to pour into cupcake liners without any mess, and by having control with my pour, the colors didn't mix. I work for reCAP and wanted to share this nifty trick. You can see my technique and cupcakes here: http://bit.ly/1pIuxNB
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlo Fuda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I am going to eat this every halloween! It is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BunnyBelladonna
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
These cupcakes are delicious and adorable! Box cake mix is always good, and the added color effects are eye catching. I simply used too many drops of food coloring for my orange, so it sank into my yellow batter for a tie dyed effect while baking, but the point was still made and everyone loved them! You must be really careful not to overfill these... I could've made quite a few more regular sized cupcakes, but I made not as many GIANT cupcakes by accident. Still great though! Will be making these again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BunnyBelladonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Springs, California, USA
Living In: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
You can do many things with the recipe! It really is not for flavor, more for looks, since you are just using box cake mix. I used white cake mix and also french vanilla cake mix. I did the coloring for halloween. I used gel food coloring. I did Purple, Green and Orange. It's easy with the gel food coloring. No mixing making colors just mix in until your happy with the batter color layer and there you go! I used betty crocker white whipped frosting colored it green, then i used a 1/2 package of the flavor mix ins (i used orange creme)pipped on the top to give a little different flaor then topped that with halloween sprinkles! took the cupcakes to the office and everyone raved! Crazy because it was just boxed cake mix! It was all in the presentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I had fun making these, but they do take more work. Definitely took more time to do two separate colors to each cupcake. They were cute in appearance, but unfortunately no one even commented on the fact they were cupcakes made to look like candy corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasksi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CarolinaCook
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
We made these for our son's school carnival and they were a sensational hit. I simply made them chocolate with chocolate icing. My husband put on the mini marshmallows and candy corn. "Monster Mohawk Cupcakes" is what our son called them. Blue gell for the pupils. Easy as 1-2-3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarolinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I have done a similar cupcake design for Christmas with alternating red and green batter and it turned out fine. The other reviewer is right, this is about presentation. So, if the coloration doesn't work out then I would alter the drop count. Also, personally, I would eliminate the green since there is no brown color in the candy candy... just use drops of orange and drops of yellow for each separate bowl of batter (if you don't have orange, red and yellow are fine...) and use as many drops as needed for the perfect color for you. I really like making cupcakes with these different coloring patterns because they can really be festive :) I will definitely be making a candy corn cupcake for Thanksgiving!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Well, these didn't turn out nearly as cute as I was hoping they would. First of all, I knew I should have used gel coloring instead of liquid because the colors really faded during baking, so the finished product was just kind of dull looking. They tasted fine, but this recipe isn't really about taste (it's just a box cake mix, after all), it's more about presentation and I wasn't too thrilled. I frosted with Wedding Cake Icing from this site. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Candy Corn Cupcakes

Make these super simple and cute candy corn cupcakes for Halloween!

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States