Candy Corn Bark Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
I've made this twice, first as directed. I found that the cookies got soggy when the chocolate sat on them, even when stored in an air tight container. Also, the raisins didn't give it that something crunchy I was looking for, but rather were an unpleasant chewy ingredient. So for my second try, I omitted the cookies and raisins, and added redskin spanish peanuts. It was a hit! The peanuts added the crunch that I was looking for and the salt was a good contrast to all of the sweet. This will definately be a new fall, must have, treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
Yummy! I used 3 bags of white baking chips, which isn't quite 1-1/2 pounds, but it was enough. I added cashews and substituted craisins for raisins. You could really pick and choose all kinds of ingredients to put in it and do different seasonal color schemes. For me, the candy corn is going to be kept to a minimum just for how pretty it is because the chewiness isn't the best with the other ingredients. I laid waxed paper on a baking sheet and spread my ingredients over that then once my candy corn was sprinkled over the top I pressed down with another sheet of waxed paper to embed all the bits into the white chocolate and waited till it was chilled to peel off the paper. It's a really pretty snack and hard to stop nibbling on despite how sweet it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Photo by MEREDITHRAE24
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
Very yummy!!!! All of the textures and flavors were a perfect combination; some crunchiness, chewiness, sweetness, and saltiness. I took the advice of putting it on wax paper, topping it with wax paper, and kind of smashing it all together. Instead of raisins, I used craisins. And I also added 1 cup of peanut M&Ms for crunch and color. I don't think I used the entire amount of candy corn, just enough for effect. And the cookies did not get soggy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
After reading many reviews and needing this for a staff party, I opted to use my mini muffin pan to make these. I used paper liners, then dropped in a mini oreo, pretzel pieces, and raisins. I used my smallest cookie scoop to pour over the white coating. Then I pressed in 2 candy corns pieces. These turned out so good, and it was really easy. Now they are all individually wrapped treats. Love the chewy raisins and the salty pretzels. This candy has it all. Great, fun Halloween recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laurenski
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Ok, DO NOT use a chopper to chop the Oreo cookies. Sounds like a time saver right? The cookies become too powdery and will turn your bark grey. (See photo.) I made a second batch with chocolate flavored bark and just broke the cookies into quarters. This worked MUCH better. (I will try this again with the white bark.) I omitted the raisins and the flavor was really good. Great fall gift/recipe. **Also, kudos to Meredith for a beautiful photo.**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
great recipe, I added halloween colored peaut m&m's for extra color and crunch. It was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Easy to make. The grand kids love helping and were statizfied with a pretty treat. Wrap individualy in cello wrap to take to parties. The kids all loved it, but I thought it was way too sweet. For a kids Halloween treat, it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JSTWINKLE5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
Loved this recipe, however I thought the candycorn made it a bit too sweet, so I made it without it and was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This is delicious. I added melted peanut butter chips along with the white chocolate and milk chocolate chips. Next time I'm also going to throw in melted butterscotch chips! I doubled the recipe but put it in one pan so it made it extra thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kahrnctr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Easy to make! I used Hersheys white chocolate morsels, took out the raisens and added cashews to add the crunch and used pretty orange, brown, green and white sprinkles. :-) YUMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobbilovesben

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Candy Corn Cupcakes

Make these super simple and cute candy corn cupcakes for Halloween!

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Jellybean Bark

This easy Easter confection is like peppermint bark but with fruity jellybeans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States