Candy Coated Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I used about 10 oz. of pecans. It was almost like a merangue coating. I used parchment paper and ther was no sticking. I tried to spread them out on the cookie sheet so they were seperate. Cooked them al little longer after flipping them. Addictive!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
These are good I doupled the egg. brown sugar, and vanilla which I will not do again. I think it made to much coating. Adding cinnamon was a nice extra. And I was parchment paper and had NO problem with them sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
These are awesome! I followed the advice/changes that Carolynanne made and they turned out fantastic. We love getting these at the mall when they have them and now I can enjoy them anytime I want!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara LeMay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Meade, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I rated the recipe as written, but I have since made several changes which in my opinion has improved the flavor/texture. Double the topping and use half white/half brown sugar and add a generous teaspoon of cinnamon. Bake at 300 degrees for 30 minutes. When it gets out of the oven I did sprinkle with a little bit more cinnamon sugar, but it probably doesn't need it. Super crunchy and impossible to resist! I have to hide these from the kids and my husband so we don't eat them all the first day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I've been making these for years. I do it a little differently. I use 2 egg whites and I only use a whisk and beat them until they're really frothy but not stiff. I use part white sugar and part brown sugar and definitely add cinnamon. After beating the egg whites I just add 1 pound of pecan halves and pour them onto a large baking sheet that's been sprayed with cooking spray. Make sure have a sheet big enough so that you don't have to pile them on top of each other or they stick together and don't toast up as well. I bake them at 250 for 1 hour and stir them every 15 minutes. You get beautifully toasted and crunchy pecans every time. The longer roasting time really brings out the flavor of the pecans and you never get soggy ones. This is a family favorite year round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Easy and delicious! Nice balance between nutty and sweet. Used parchment paper without cooking spray and it was fine. Next time I'll add cinnamon to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
My family LOVES these. I am giving them 4 stars because as written they are very good, but if you add the extra cinnamon and sugar toward the end like a previous reviewer suggested, then they are worth 5 stars. I use them in cream cheese frosting on carrot cake and it's to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Perfect. Exactly what I wanted. I did find they do better if you let them dry on the pan for at least an hour after baking...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
These are sooo addictive. My fav. guilty pleasure. They are extra great warm right out of the oven. I never use exact amounts of nuts or sugar but they always turn out. I omit the wax paper and just put them on a cookie sheet. A friend of mine makes them with chilli flakes so they are sweet and spicey. That is a good version, but I prefer the original myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Keusen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Phenomenal!! Absolutely loved these! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Coated Pecans

See how to make the perfect sweet snack.

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States