Candy Coated Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This is a delicious and easy recipe! Like the other reviewers suggested, I increased the amount of brown sugar and added cinnamon. I also didn't have any sticking problems with the parchment paper. I tried them right out of the oven and the nut seemed to have gotten too soft, but they crisped up quickly. They're light and airy and soo delicious! I'm making more tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I have a similar recipe that I have been making for a few years, but can't find anymore. This one is pretty close, and plenty good. I doubled the coating, adding a bit of cinnamon and a bit more vanilla. Because I doubled the coating, I added about half a cup extra pecans. I like my pecans coated very well, but I hate wasting good coating that ends up as crumbs after being cooked since it is not covering anything. I got extra candy coated pecans out of it, so it was a win for everyone in my family. Also, I usually cook for longer than 10 - 15 minutes and at a temp of 300 - I just keep stirring every 5-7 minutes to make sure all the pecans are being cooked evenly and the coating is evenly distributed. I probably do this 4 times so I cook my pecans about 20-25 minutes. You can tell when they are done. They lose the wet shiny look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
didn't turn out. I had stiff peaks. cooked forever and they still didn't turn out. looked goofy and didn't even taste good. the bottom of one pan burned before they were done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie 'Wilken' Epp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
These are easy and delicious. I like to spice them a bit and add some allspice and cinnamon. Great addition to salads like the Roquefort Pear Salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I've made these a number of times according to the directions and they were wonderful. The last time I made them I followed the advice of others and removed them from the oven after about 15 minutes, coated with additional sugar and cinnamon, stirred and baked for a total of about half an hour. They were even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Didn't care for them. They stayed 'wet' and sticky
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coralie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I literally made these on my lunch break. So quick and easy and they were delicious. I made them for salad, but everyone ended up eating them like candy, so I'm gonna have to make another batch. TFS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1st Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covina, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
What a great recipe. After reading the other reviews I doubled the coating ingredients and added cinnamon. I baked at 250 for about 15 mins & then stirred them up and baked for another 15 mins. Next time I'll make sure to flip each pecan over so they get a nicely browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Very simple recipe...yummy! I toss them in a salad made with Romaine lettuce, sliced strawberries and thinly sliced red onion. Then top with a raspberry vinagarette dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Coated Pecans

See how to make the perfect sweet snack.

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Deep-Fried Candy Bars

See how to make candy bars even yummier.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States