Candy Coated Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I love this recipe. I baked them for 1 hour and they got really crunchy. They are so addictive. They remind me of my mother's boiled icing recipe. I omit the vanilla because I think it overpowers the recipe, but I add a bit of cayenne pepper. Yummy. They are in the oven right now!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Wonderful and easy--I've never whipped an egg white in my life, but I did it perfectly--twice, because I had to make 2 batches! I followed Carolynanne's suggestions, except I used 3 cups of pecans per batch. These will be gifts I am proud to give!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
So easy and delicious! I made these with the addition of 1/4 tsp cardamom for Christmas gifts. I did not double the coating as in some reviews as I found the coating to be just fine, though they did take a bit longer to cook. Love them! Thanks, Jan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snoochee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
great taste not very pretty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ma Dukes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I followed others advise and doubled the recipe. I used 1Kg of pecans about 9cups. I used 4 eggs 2 cups sugar (again following other advice to use some white sugar), vanilla and lots of cinnamon. I ran out of white sugar so I couldn't make it half and half. I used about 2/3 cup white the rest brown. The egg formed stiff peaks. Used parchment paper, no sticking problems. baked at 300 for 30 mins stirring every 10mins as others suggested. Out of the oven I left them on the paper and stirred them every so often. They harddened nicely. As they cool they get harder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I used about 10 oz. of pecans. It was almost like a merangue coating. I used parchment paper and ther was no sticking. I tried to spread them out on the cookie sheet so they were seperate. Cooked them al little longer after flipping them. Addictive!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
These are good I doupled the egg. brown sugar, and vanilla which I will not do again. I think it made to much coating. Adding cinnamon was a nice extra. And I was parchment paper and had NO problem with them sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
These are awesome! I followed the advice/changes that Carolynanne made and they turned out fantastic. We love getting these at the mall when they have them and now I can enjoy them anytime I want!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara LeMay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Meade, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I rated the recipe as written, but I have since made several changes which in my opinion has improved the flavor/texture. Double the topping and use half white/half brown sugar and add a generous teaspoon of cinnamon. Bake at 300 degrees for 30 minutes. When it gets out of the oven I did sprinkle with a little bit more cinnamon sugar, but it probably doesn't need it. Super crunchy and impossible to resist! I have to hide these from the kids and my husband so we don't eat them all the first day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I've been making these for years. I do it a little differently. I use 2 egg whites and I only use a whisk and beat them until they're really frothy but not stiff. I use part white sugar and part brown sugar and definitely add cinnamon. After beating the egg whites I just add 1 pound of pecan halves and pour them onto a large baking sheet that's been sprayed with cooking spray. Make sure have a sheet big enough so that you don't have to pile them on top of each other or they stick together and don't toast up as well. I bake them at 250 for 1 hour and stir them every 15 minutes. You get beautifully toasted and crunchy pecans every time. The longer roasting time really brings out the flavor of the pecans and you never get soggy ones. This is a family favorite year round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Coated Pecans

See how to make the perfect sweet snack.

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States