Candy-Coated Milk Chocolate Pieces Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This was so easy. I just subbed vegetable oil for the shortening and they came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie Carrasco

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I used half shortening, half salted butter. I made no other changes. I actually baked mine at 350* for eleven minutes--the reason for the longer cooking time was because I really packed my small cookie scoop to make bigger sized cookies which meant they needed a touch longer bake time. They turned out soft, chewy and were loved by my husband and two kids. Next time, I will try this with Reese's pieces and maybe half peanut butter in place of some of the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
As most chocolate cookies are, this is a slight variation of “Original NESTLÉ® TOLL HOUSE® Chocolate Chip Cookies.” I like the use of shortening rather than all butter in this recipe for the sturdiness it imparts, but wanting the best of both worlds, I used half of each. Going into this I knew this would be a moister, softer cookie, just by virtue of the fact that there is a higher ratio of brown sugar to white sugar. Because I like my cookies crunchier, I knew this would not be MY favorite, but I know this texture appeals to most – and that’s what it delivered. These are indeed soft and tender, but chewy at the same time. I had mini M & M’s in the pantry, so I correspondingly made the cookies smaller too. As I do with all my cookies containing butter, I chilled the dough for about an hour before I baked them. These cheery two-bite cuties will be well-liked at Hubs’ meeting tomorrow morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
These cookies needed more flavor or more sugar...will never make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
One of the best homemade cookies I have tried! I was out of butter so I was happy to find this one. I would have thought butter would be better but NO WAY. The only thing I would change is the salt. They were like sweet and salty cookies. I have cut it in half every time I have made them now. thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BusyMom
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I made these yesterday since we had friends coming over. Everyone loved them, especially me! I only made one change. I used butter instead of shortening. I also added a couple of extra M&M's to the top of each cookie before baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusyMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
We thought these cookies were very delicious. I used half crisco shortening and half butter and put the batter into the freezer to stiffen them up a bit, it keeps them from spreading to much. They were very soft and they will not last long. I also mixed in most of the m&m and then put a few on top of each cookie so you can see them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Honor Ross
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I made these fantastic cookies for my friend's going away party. They shouldn't be cooked very long, so that they are chewy. Like another reviewer said, they were better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honor Ross

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boerne, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Delicious flavor! I doubled the recipe and used all butter. It made about 50 nice big cookies and they went over great at a school function. These weren't particularly good warm but they were wonderful the next day. Will certainly make again! My husband who doesn't like cookies really loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINMOMMY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Jaeger
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
For the record I did use all shortening and no butter but did add a bit of butter flavoring. I love the texture shortening gives to cookies. They were best the first day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States