Candy-Coated Chocolates Cookie Mix In A Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
3/4 cup of butter was way too much, so not only did the presentation not work the cookies were unedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I'm happy I found this recipe online! I received a jar very similar to this one, but all white ingredients. It was VERY dry, so I added 2-3 TBSP of milk and they stuck together MUCH better. The one that I received also tastes a bit salty. Not sure if it's based off of this recipe or not, but next time around I may add a pinch more sugar and flour to offset the saltiness. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cculver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chef_sara
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This idea was fantastic! I made 12 jars total, 6 were for my friends who celebrated Hanukkah & the others were for the Xmas folks. In the Hanukkah jars I used Chocolate Chips instead of M&Ms. I used fabric that had drediels on them to cover the lids & tied super cute ribbon around the lid with a recipe card. For the Xmas jars I used red & green M&Ms & used a variety of different seasonal fabrics to cover the lids followed by a decorative bow & recipe card. I would highly recommend this to any baking lover, as it really is a heart warming gift for the holiday. I feel as if this gift most represents me & when I share it with my family & friends it shows them really how much I love to cook & bake. Plus, who can't resist cookies? Pictures to follow =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by teffy
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I mad 17 of these as teacher, instructor, and bus driver gifts for Christmas 2009. I used old mason jars. We got lots of compliments on them and many told us how good they were and what a fun gift it was. I made 3 different kinds -- mini M&M's, Reese's Pieces, and mini chocolate=chips. DEFINITELY follow the member-suggested advice with changing the placement order or they will not turn out nice. As you can see by my submitted photo with a few jars, put the flour mixture first, then the brown sugar (packed), then the white sugar, then the candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I found this was an amazingly simple recipe to assemble and even easier to execute. The trick is to take them out of the oven just as they begin to brown. I test baked a couple of different variations as follows, my favorite is the 1st using 1/2 cups of each type of each ingredient: 1.Cranberries, milk chocolate chips, white chocolate. 2) Using the original recipe 1/2 cup red/green/white m&m's, then milk chocolate and white chocolate also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rohnert Park, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I use this recipe all the time, not for gifts but for the cookie recipe. At Halloween, I use black and orange; at Easter, the pastel mix; at Christmas, the red & green mix; for 4th of July, the red, white & blue; and just because, the plain red, orange, yellow, green, blue, and brown mix. Kids of all ages love them. For a softer cookie, turn in down to 325 degrees and cook slightly longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
This looks like a nice gift when layering the ingredients starting with the flour. I was told that a sealed jar would last about 6 months, but how do i seal it? I'd like to include shelflife on the labes. Thanks! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
Like other users, I put the flour in first, then the brown sugar, white sugar and finally the M&M's. It's a lovely gift to give at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
I made these in a jar for my mother-in-law, and then made a sample recipe to see how they tasted. I used peanut M&M's to make sure the flour didn't seep through the top. Didn't work. The presentation is not cute. They tasted horrible. They had burnt bottoms and came out flat. It broke apart like dirt when bitten. I crushed some of the m&ms to be sure they fit in the cookie and left the rest whole. The outer shells of the peanut m&ms' were burnt crusty brown and you could taste the burnt 'toasted ' peanut in it's place. The whole thing tasted like a burnt peanut butter cookie. Sorry Verushka, but I will not make these again. I still however gave the cookie-in-a-jar gift to my mother in law. Jan, NotSoModest
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
this cookie wasnt bad. it was actaully pretty good but i would recommend to put the flour on the bottom brown sugar next, baking soda and salt third, sugar 4th and top with the mini candy coated chocolates. makes for a delicious cookie =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States