Candy-Coated Chocolates Cookie Mix In A Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2000
I received this recipe as a gift. I made the cookies and they were delicious. I would recommend this as a gift to anyone. I will make them as gifts for Christmas this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2000
I made twenty-five of these for Christmas gifts and after the first one I realized I needed to put ingredients in in a different order. I put the flour mixture in first, then the brown sugar, packed it down really well, then the white sugar and finally the M&M chips. It looked very nice and I was told by one of the recipients that they were the best cookie her family had ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2001
I made 14 of these for Christmas. I also layered the flour, soda and salt, then packed down the brown sugar, added the white sugar and topped it off with the candy. I put them in decorated glass jars, and tied the directions and a wooden spoon on with raffia. Everyone loved them. My brother just baked his up and ate half of them in one sitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
Like other users, I put the flour in first, then the brown sugar, white sugar and finally the M&M's. It's a lovely gift to give at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I use this recipe all the time, not for gifts but for the cookie recipe. At Halloween, I use black and orange; at Easter, the pastel mix; at Christmas, the red & green mix; for 4th of July, the red, white & blue; and just because, the plain red, orange, yellow, green, blue, and brown mix. Kids of all ages love them. For a softer cookie, turn in down to 325 degrees and cook slightly longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chef_sara
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This idea was fantastic! I made 12 jars total, 6 were for my friends who celebrated Hanukkah & the others were for the Xmas folks. In the Hanukkah jars I used Chocolate Chips instead of M&Ms. I used fabric that had drediels on them to cover the lids & tied super cute ribbon around the lid with a recipe card. For the Xmas jars I used red & green M&Ms & used a variety of different seasonal fabrics to cover the lids followed by a decorative bow & recipe card. I would highly recommend this to any baking lover, as it really is a heart warming gift for the holiday. I feel as if this gift most represents me & when I share it with my family & friends it shows them really how much I love to cook & bake. Plus, who can't resist cookies? Pictures to follow =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
this cookie wasnt bad. it was actaully pretty good but i would recommend to put the flour on the bottom brown sugar next, baking soda and salt third, sugar 4th and top with the mini candy coated chocolates. makes for a delicious cookie =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
This looks like a nice gift when layering the ingredients starting with the flour. I was told that a sealed jar would last about 6 months, but how do i seal it? I'd like to include shelflife on the labes. Thanks! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I found this was an amazingly simple recipe to assemble and even easier to execute. The trick is to take them out of the oven just as they begin to brown. I test baked a couple of different variations as follows, my favorite is the 1st using 1/2 cups of each type of each ingredient: 1.Cranberries, milk chocolate chips, white chocolate. 2) Using the original recipe 1/2 cup red/green/white m&m's, then milk chocolate and white chocolate also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rohnert Park, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by teffy
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I mad 17 of these as teacher, instructor, and bus driver gifts for Christmas 2009. I used old mason jars. We got lots of compliments on them and many told us how good they were and what a fun gift it was. I made 3 different kinds -- mini M&M's, Reese's Pieces, and mini chocolate=chips. DEFINITELY follow the member-suggested advice with changing the placement order or they will not turn out nice. As you can see by my submitted photo with a few jars, put the flour mixture first, then the brown sugar (packed), then the white sugar, then the candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States