Candy Cane Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Blah! I agree with a previous reviewer... I couldn't get the dough to roll because it was waaay too sticky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Did have to add more flour so less sticky- added 1/4 cups flour (and some more powdered sugar) until dough consistancy. Got lazy at the end and just did circles dipped in the candy cane mixture and came out to be cute candy cane sugar cookies. Mixed candy canes into the dough and added a few drops of peppermint oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURLYALLISONS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
My grammy made these every year and it's a tradition in our house. When my daughter comes home from college she always requests that we make these together. I never add almond extract, just 1/2 tsp vanilla and pepperment extract. When they are right out of the oven I roll them in a mixture of sugar and crushed candy canes. Yummy. I always make about 6 dozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Great! My peppermint-loving 3-year-old son couldn't get enough of these during the holidays. The freeze well...actually it's the beginning of March, and I just gave my son the last one from the freezer today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
These tasted very good. The only thing I'll do different next time is roll the dough skinnier. They puffed up pretty big. The almond extract gives it a great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEATRICEANN73

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I also omitted the almond and replaced it with peppermint extract ... much better flavor. They are very time consuming and I was getting tired so I just made mine into 3" "peppermint sticks". They look very cute this way, much less fragile. I took white chocolate, melted it and just drizzled a bit across the candy canes and then sprinkled them with the crushed candy canes - very delicious, but too time consuming at the last minute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRATIOTBE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Here's a tip for getting the crushed peppermint/sugar to stick to the cookies. Pour a little Karo light corn syrup into a microwave safe bowl, and put it in the microwave just long enough for it to become very runny, almost like water (maybe 20 seconds). Brush this onto the cookies (the silicone pastry brushes are great) and immediately sprinkle the topping on. I put the cookies on a wire rack with a sheet of waxed paper underneath. Let them dry completely before storing. You can do the sprinkling after the cookies cool, so that they're a little sturdier. BE CAREFUL with the hot Karo, it gets extremely hot very fast and could cause a very nasty burn. I adore these cookies and think they are well worth the trouble! I've made them for many years, my old recipe used half Crisco/half butter but is otherwise identical.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
244 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I am laughing at myself over this recipe. I doubled the recipe and they taste fantastic, but myy candy canes look just like fat shrimp. Ha. Maybe this is one recipe you can't double because it has too much baking powder in it. I salvaged the dough by mixing the peppermint and sugar in the dough and rolling them like sugar cookies. Pressed them down with a glass. I then sprinkled green and red sprinkles on them. If I had a digital camera I would take a picture so everyone could see my Christmas shrimp. This was no fault of the recipe - it is the baker's mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beverly
Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sumchelle
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
The only thing I do different is 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup Butter Flavor Crisco. I LOVE these cookies because there really are no rules. In this Green Bay Packers loving house, I tint the dough green and gold and make either cane shaped cookies or "G" shaped cookies. (Oh yeah: I never use the crushed candy canes / sugar topping, because it's such a pain in the butt, messy and it melts all over the cookie sheets and is impossible to get off...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
These cookies were tasty. I changed the way the repipe said to form them though. Ours were slightly larger (not on purpose) and instead of making 1 strip in the shape of a candy cane, our candy canes were composed of 2 different color strips twisted together. To do this we simply left half of the dough in the bowl and used red food dye to color it red while leaving the other half of the dough white. We also ended up adding about a tablespoon or so more milk to the dough. Don't eat these cookies warm from the oven on the first day because we tried them and they weren't all that great. Instead, wait a day and they taste much less doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States