Candy Cane Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I used the reviewer's suggestion with less almond and more flour. Good cookie, basically like a shortbread sugar cookie (a little odd). I decided I'm going to try to dip the cookies into the sugar/peppermint mixture while warm. Sprinkling on top only made them stick to the very top, creating a weird looking row of sprinkles, and a mess underneath the cooling rack. My kids like them, but I think it's mostly cause they look like a candy cane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Made these tonight at work, first batch was ok following the recipe. However we did add sugar/candie in the dough and smothered them with the sugar/candie mix. We added red/green food coloring. Seperated the dough then mixed them together. Please see photo that I uploaded to see. They ended up turning out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justin Roybal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Like some others, I use peppermint extract instead of almond. Also, I brush a little egg white on the cookies and then sprinkle the candy/sugar mixture on them. Works great and they are very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I've made Candy Cane Cookies since I learned the recipe in school, and I've never had a problem. this recipe is the one I use though. makes 3-4 dozen Pre-heat 375 F 1/2 c marg/butter 1/2 c shortening 1 c icing sugar 1 egg 1/2 tsp red food colouring 1 1/2 tsp almond extract 1 tsp vanilla 2 1/2 c flour 1 tsp salt (optional) I never use salt cream fats and sugar, add flavouring, beat in egg. add flour & salt. Divide dough in 2, add red food colour to one half. Shape 1 tsp dough from each ball into a 4" rope by rolling on counter with palm of hand. Place ropes of each colour side by side, and roll together slowly until they appear to blend, then twist slightly until they look like candy canes. Curve top of cane and gently put on a greased baking sheet. Bake Approx. 9 minutes or until set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
A hint for the crushed peppermint melting on the cookie sheet is to use parchment paper. All you do when you are done is throw it away. Clean up is a snap. I always put the peppermint as soon as them come out of the oven most of it melts to the cookie. If your pepperment pieces aren't staying you need to chop them smaller. I use an electric chopper works great. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Munich, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
My husband, two kids and I did not like these and when do children turn down cookies? Hubby said hard to make as he made these with the kids. Said dough hard to roll out. Not making again obviously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Centerview, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I thought this recipe was great. I used peppermint extract and vanilla extract and sprinkled them with powdered sugar (I didn't want to bother crushing the peppermint candy this time!) They turned out so pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Ok so, I'm giving it 4 stars for taste. But, my cookies fell apart so I just put them all in a pile having candy cane pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneeB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Venice, Florida, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I did not have good luck with this recipe, and I really wanted them to turn out. The dough was very difficult to work with, even after being stored in the freezer it became very sticky when handling. If I try this again, I will replace the almond extract with peppermint, and reduce the amount of salt in the recipe, it was too salty for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Blah! I agree with a previous reviewer... I couldn't get the dough to roll because it was waaay too sticky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States