Candy Cane Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly and was not impressed. They do look cute but they brake very easy! i didn't think they tasted very good. The person that wrote about using karo syrup was so right, it worked so good to make the candy stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tnahinu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
easy, fun for kids, we switched the measurements of almond and vanilla, using more vanilla than almond...still a heavy almond flavor, we favor vanilla. Next batch we will omit the almond entirely
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKGEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I am going to give four stars as is they were a bit tasteless as is. Also the sugar mixture is not going to stick when cookies are fresh out of the oven so I added the crushed peppermints into the batter. Then before cooking them, I sprinkled sugar on the cookies. Also, next time I will omit the almond extract and just use Vanilla. I thought about peppermint as some suggested, but for me, I think that would be to much with the crushed peppermint pieces. Also, the cook time was a bit much, the cookies were to crisp. I would cut it back a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
the dough was super think and when they cook they get really a bland taste. they need a lot more sugar in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Bloomer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I used peppermint extract instead of almond extract and couldn't imagine it having less peppermint taste, more would have been a bit better. When I pulled the cookies out of the oven, I couldn't get the peppermint sugar mixture to stick, so I did my best to sprinkle it on top and put them back in the oven for a couple minutes. This worked, but not as well as pressing the cookies into the mixture before baking. I also dyed half the dough red and swirled it with the plain dough. I love having peppermint flavored, candy cane shaped, red and white swirled cookies, but I really hate rolling ropes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
My mother made these cookies when I was growing up and I have been making them for several years. They are always a hit and we use this exact recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
good cookies but not great. Easy and fun to work with though, would be great for a kids recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BElms

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
When ever I do these in the last 5 minutes of cooking I pull them out and sprinle my crushed candy cane on them. It melts and covers more of the cookie and doesn't fall off whem storing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbellford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
My Mom taught me to make these when I was 10 years old. I am now 67 and still bake them. They are and always will be a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
These were Extremely messy to make and tasted awful. The dough should be chilled or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States