Candy Cane Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Took much longer than I though (it was tedious to twist the dough), but they turned out beautifully! Sprinkled crushed/powdered candy canes on top right out of the oven and it stayed there. Added a little more flower as some suggested, and not quite as much almond extract. Can't wait to serve them tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
With the substitution of peppermint extract instead of the almond, it was a great recipe! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morristown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
my grandma makes this and i love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Not a great recipe. They don't taste that good and the dough is hard to work with. I even refrigerated it. I also put the candy and sugar on top immediately after coming out of the oven and it just didn't stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I tried it and the cookies were good but they spread too much and some did not keep their shape, that was a little disappointing but the kiddies still loved them and gobbled them up :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsMurrietta

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
After chilling the dough for a long time, and using extra powdered sugar to handle it (tastes better than extra flour) I was able to make the candy canes. The problem was that when I tried to remove them from my pans after baking them, they stuck terrible and half of them broke! I was going to use them for cookie plates for my neighbors, but now I don't have near enough to do that. They tasted fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Nielsen Yeagley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
These are so adorable and they taste great! I just put in 1 teaspoon of almond extract, but next time I will put in all 1 1/2 teaspoons. I found the dough a little hard to work with at first, but after I sprinkled it with flour, it was okay. Mine needed 10 minutes in a 375 degree oven. I know I'll make these again and I am going to take these to my church cookie-swap tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jonesborough, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
The cookies taste okay, but the sugar will not stay on after baking. You need to brush with egg wash and sugar before baking. I've been baking for years and should have known better. Takes 8 minutes to bake at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathie McFadden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cara Brinsky
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Made this today and am very disappointed. They LOOK beautiful... unfortunatly only about half a dozen didnt break. And they taste OK, not great. Rolling them into candy canes was a pain in the butt and fell apart. Wont be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara Brinsky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Very bland. I made this for christmas last year and it wasn't very gOod at all. Only good thing was the cookies were soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina_Papou

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States