Candy Cane Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sumchelle
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
The only thing I do different is 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup Butter Flavor Crisco. I LOVE these cookies because there really are no rules. In this Green Bay Packers loving house, I tint the dough green and gold and make either cane shaped cookies or "G" shaped cookies. (Oh yeah: I never use the crushed candy canes / sugar topping, because it's such a pain in the butt, messy and it melts all over the cookie sheets and is impossible to get off...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2000
These cookies are very cute and tasty. The only downside is that it takes a bit of time to get all of the dough twisted and rolled into canes. I ended up mixing the two colors of dough together and just shaping it into canes. They looked great that way as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2001
Thank you! Every one loved these cookies at my family's Christmas reunion and at work. They were the best of all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
Ok, I just made these tonight. It took about an hour and a half to finish the batch. These were wonderfully tasty, especially with the peppermint candies. I also added peppermint extract and did not use vanilla or almond. I will add vanilla next time to see how that is. Also, next time I will roll the canes in the candies first then bake. I agree with others that it was rather difficult to get it to stick to the cookies. So tasty...can't wait to share with my daughters. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
I have been looking for this recipe. My sister emailed it to me to make for this upcoming holiday. These cookies my mom use to make when we were little. She stopped making them because it was a lot of work rolling them into candy canes. I had to beg and plead the last time. So I decided to make them for myself. I used them in my cookie press and made them in to wreaths instead. They turned out great. I wrapped them up and gave them with gifts to the people at work and they loved them. I am planning on making them again because they are all gone. I have my aunt placing orders for me to make them now...what did I start. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
This is one of my favorite Christmas cookie recipes. My roommate loves them and I always double this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingman, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Here's a tip for getting the crushed peppermint/sugar to stick to the cookies. Pour a little Karo light corn syrup into a microwave safe bowl, and put it in the microwave just long enough for it to become very runny, almost like water (maybe 20 seconds). Brush this onto the cookies (the silicone pastry brushes are great) and immediately sprinkle the topping on. I put the cookies on a wire rack with a sheet of waxed paper underneath. Let them dry completely before storing. You can do the sprinkling after the cookies cool, so that they're a little sturdier. BE CAREFUL with the hot Karo, it gets extremely hot very fast and could cause a very nasty burn. I adore these cookies and think they are well worth the trouble! I've made them for many years, my old recipe used half Crisco/half butter but is otherwise identical.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
242 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
These tasted very good. The only thing I'll do different next time is roll the dough skinnier. They puffed up pretty big. The almond extract gives it a great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEATRICEANN73

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Great! My peppermint-loving 3-year-old son couldn't get enough of these during the holidays. The freeze well...actually it's the beginning of March, and I just gave my son the last one from the freezer today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
My grammy made these every year and it's a tradition in our house. When my daughter comes home from college she always requests that we make these together. I never add almond extract, just 1/2 tsp vanilla and pepperment extract. When they are right out of the oven I roll them in a mixture of sugar and crushed candy canes. Yummy. I always make about 6 dozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States