Candy Cane Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2000
These cookies are very cute and tasty. The only downside is that it takes a bit of time to get all of the dough twisted and rolled into canes. I ended up mixing the two colors of dough together and just shaping it into canes. They looked great that way as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2001
Thank you! Every one loved these cookies at my family's Christmas reunion and at work. They were the best of all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2001
I don't know what I did wrong, but this recipe was horrible! The dough was VERY sticky and hard to work with, even after adding about 3 cups more flour and refrigerating it! Also, these had a horrible taste, very salty, even with the candy and sugar on top! Kids wouldn't touch them! I will keep looking for a candy cane recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
This is a great recipe! It isn't too sweet, but has flavor. It was easy to prepare, the only thing that took time was making the candy cane shapes. I did only add about half the salt that the recipe calls for. I also found it easier to roll the dough in the candy cane mixture before rolling it out or cooking. It was just too messy to try to sprinkle it on when they were warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
I will have to agree with DROOSMOM. These were awful! The dough was so sticky and flimsy, I had to add a bunch of flour and it still didn't help. Also, when trying to put the sugar/peppermint candies on top after baking, they didn't stick but just rolled right off. It did help to sprinkle on the mixture prior to baking but that didn't help these unflavorful cookies that came out looking like a 5 year old's art project. Cute idea, but not worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
Ok, I just made these tonight. It took about an hour and a half to finish the batch. These were wonderfully tasty, especially with the peppermint candies. I also added peppermint extract and did not use vanilla or almond. I will add vanilla next time to see how that is. Also, next time I will roll the canes in the candies first then bake. I agree with others that it was rather difficult to get it to stick to the cookies. So tasty...can't wait to share with my daughters. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
I have been looking for this recipe. My sister emailed it to me to make for this upcoming holiday. These cookies my mom use to make when we were little. She stopped making them because it was a lot of work rolling them into candy canes. I had to beg and plead the last time. So I decided to make them for myself. I used them in my cookie press and made them in to wreaths instead. They turned out great. I wrapped them up and gave them with gifts to the people at work and they loved them. I am planning on making them again because they are all gone. I have my aunt placing orders for me to make them now...what did I start. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
This is one of my favorite Christmas cookie recipes. My roommate loves them and I always double this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingman, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
Like most everyone, my Mother used to make these cookies, but do to time, she stoped. The recipe was lost for a period of time. I thought this was it, and made it and it well... was bad but the ggod news was that when I gave my Mother a cookie she spit it out and said I remember where I put the right recipe. here are the improvements..1 tsp of vanilla and pepermint extract (omit almond) 3 1/2 c flour 1/4 tsp of salt! now everything else is the same. I hope you find this correction, for these cookies are a Christams staple at our house now I have the right recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
307 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiger Sand

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Swansea, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
Made some of the recommendations (i.e., 3 1/2 cups flour, ommitted almond extract). I pulverized the candy canes and mixed them in the dough. The canes need to be short - approx. 2 1/2 inches and a bit thicker. Put cookies on wax paper so they don't stick. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States