Candy Cane Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
the dough was super think and when they cook they get really a bland taste. they need a lot more sugar in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Bloomer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I used peppermint extract instead of almond extract and couldn't imagine it having less peppermint taste, more would have been a bit better. When I pulled the cookies out of the oven, I couldn't get the peppermint sugar mixture to stick, so I did my best to sprinkle it on top and put them back in the oven for a couple minutes. This worked, but not as well as pressing the cookies into the mixture before baking. I also dyed half the dough red and swirled it with the plain dough. I love having peppermint flavored, candy cane shaped, red and white swirled cookies, but I really hate rolling ropes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
My mother made these cookies when I was growing up and I have been making them for several years. They are always a hit and we use this exact recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
good cookies but not great. Easy and fun to work with though, would be great for a kids recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BElms

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
When ever I do these in the last 5 minutes of cooking I pull them out and sprinle my crushed candy cane on them. It melts and covers more of the cookie and doesn't fall off whem storing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbellford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
My Mom taught me to make these when I was 10 years old. I am now 67 and still bake them. They are and always will be a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
These were Extremely messy to make and tasted awful. The dough should be chilled or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
this recipe is 1 my grandma used to make every year 4 christmas before she passed away. it brings back such fond memories of her! The trick she taught me to keep these cookies from sticking is to sprinkle a little powdered sugar on wax paper before rolling them into very thin 3in long pieces. i hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I did not understand how to get the candy cane effet. I need pictures or a video. - bri
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I've tried to make these for 2 years and both times them came out disappointing. It is to difficult to get the peppermint crushed candies to stick and what's with the almond extract shouldn't it be peppermint...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jenkintown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States