Candy Cane Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Cara Brinsky
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Made this today and am very disappointed. They LOOK beautiful... unfortunatly only about half a dozen didnt break. And they taste OK, not great. Rolling them into candy canes was a pain in the butt and fell apart. Wont be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara Brinsky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Very bland. I made this for christmas last year and it wasn't very gOod at all. Only good thing was the cookies were soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina_Papou

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
the batter kept breaking a part. The taste was better good though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Carreiro
Home Town: Laval, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Not bad, just not amazing, either. I used peppermint instead of almond extract, and recommend 1/4tsp salt, not 1 tsp. Also, perhaps would try 3 1/2 C flour isntead of 2 1/2C. Oh, and butter needs to be softened. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
These were very pretty but the cookies had almost no flavor at all. If I were to make them again I would change the recipe quite a bit to include peppermint extract and no almond extract. The candy does not stick to cookies so you have to use something to get it to stick like karo syrup or milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McKennacat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paw Paw, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I'm sorry but these were sticky and salty. :( Very disappointed! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I loved these, they were a hit at the party! I used all three colours in each candy cane and honey after baking to adhere the peppermint topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Sorry to say the directions are poorly written (for first time bakers) and needs more flavor. Nice idea though. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I did not have almond extract at home so I used peppermint extract. I thought they came out good but were a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I love these cookies. So yummy! Next time I will probably skip the crushed peppermint as it didn't really stick to the cookies, but they were delicious without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States