Candy Cane Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
This is a great base recipe. I was used to them with a mint flavor instead of almond, so I used vanilla and peppermint (no almond) extract and substituted granulated sugar for powdered. The consistency of the dough seemed fine and the two colors twisted together as expected. I sprayed the pan with non-stick spray before baking and had no cookies brake when removing them from the pan. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Selene K.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nenana, Alaska, USA
Living In: Medford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
The trick to getting this dough right is Butter Flavored Crisco. Use 1 cup (at room temperature) and the dough will hold while you are rolling the ropes. The dough will be like playdoh. The original Bettery Crocker recipe says to omit salf if you are using all purpose flour. I sprinkle sugar on the tops of these before baking and undercook by a minute. I also use 2 teasp almond extract and no vanilla extract. They are a big hit with the kids. Plan on some extra time to preare these, but the ohhs and ahhhs are worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oak Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
My old neighbors used to make these every year growing up and it has been years since I've had them. They tasted exactly as I remember, however I had a difficult time with the dough. The first set I twisted into candy cane-shape were ok, but the dough became brittle and dry after just sitting on the countertop for a few minutes. I tried added droplets of water, which helped minimally, so all the cookies came out a little deformed looking. Tasted great though! Also may consider not using food dye next time and using an organic/natural icing instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This is the recipe I was looking for - the one my mom used to make when I was a kid. As other reviewers have said (and my mom always used to say), the dough can be difficult to work with. However, if you refrigerate the dough before rolling the candy canes, it's much easier. I always frost with vanilla frosting and top with crushed candy canes. It makes them take even longer, but they're my favorite, and they look beautiful and festive, so it's totally worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peeps

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
they were pretty good, they add a nice color to a cookie basket
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Overall good but lists too much butter/shortening and too much salt. Fat starts to separate out and a teaspoon of salt is way too much for this recipe. You could taste the salt too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
The Flavor is OK and the cosistency of the dough isnt thick enough to roll, it breaks very easily. I divieded the dough and did one half red like it said, then i put the red dough back into the white dough and stirred a little bit, so it was swirled. then i rolled them into balls and topped them with ANDES PEPPERMINT BAKING CHIPS. then baked them for 9 minutes! they are good although the flavor is still less than i would like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
I'm sorry but these were not very good to me. They fell apart so easy when transferring to the cookie sheet and even after baked. I don't like peppermint so opted on that. The flavor was bland even with the other extracts and tasted like flour. Have to sprinkle alot of sugar on top just to sweeten them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
VERY SALTY!!! I would use less salt next time and all almond extract no vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dippitydonut

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
These tasted pretty much like I remember having when I was a kid. I used 1 cup of butter and no shortening to avoid hydrogenated oils and I think this made mine spread/flatten out a lot and made them more cakey rather than pastry-like in texture. (I mention this only as fyi for anyone else who prefers not to use shortening when baking) But they were yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States