Candy Cane Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This is the recipe I was looking for - the one my mom used to make when I was a kid. As other reviewers have said (and my mom always used to say), the dough can be difficult to work with. However, if you refrigerate the dough before rolling the candy canes, it's much easier. I always frost with vanilla frosting and top with crushed candy canes. It makes them take even longer, but they're my favorite, and they look beautiful and festive, so it's totally worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peeps

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
they were pretty good, they add a nice color to a cookie basket
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Overall good but lists too much butter/shortening and too much salt. Fat starts to separate out and a teaspoon of salt is way too much for this recipe. You could taste the salt too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
The Flavor is OK and the cosistency of the dough isnt thick enough to roll, it breaks very easily. I divieded the dough and did one half red like it said, then i put the red dough back into the white dough and stirred a little bit, so it was swirled. then i rolled them into balls and topped them with ANDES PEPPERMINT BAKING CHIPS. then baked them for 9 minutes! they are good although the flavor is still less than i would like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
I'm sorry but these were not very good to me. They fell apart so easy when transferring to the cookie sheet and even after baked. I don't like peppermint so opted on that. The flavor was bland even with the other extracts and tasted like flour. Have to sprinkle alot of sugar on top just to sweeten them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
VERY SALTY!!! I would use less salt next time and all almond extract no vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dippitydonut

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
These tasted pretty much like I remember having when I was a kid. I used 1 cup of butter and no shortening to avoid hydrogenated oils and I think this made mine spread/flatten out a lot and made them more cakey rather than pastry-like in texture. (I mention this only as fyi for anyone else who prefers not to use shortening when baking) But they were yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
I was hoping these would be the cookies I remembered from childhood. Bland and SUPER SALTY! Our family doesn't eat much salt so our taste buds are sensitive, but a cookie shouldn't be THAT salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
Tasted just liked I hoped it would. The dough is a bit of a pain to deal with, as it cracks a lot when you are trying to shape it. But, with special care these turn out delightful. Mine made 16 fat candy canes. Make sure you let them cool about 5-10 minutes on cookie sheet otherwise they will break.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
I chose this recipe out of the three becuase it had the best rating. I don't know what I did different from the others, but the dough was terrible! Sticky and flimsy. Very difficult to roll or work with. I tried to chill it for a half hour, but it was usless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States