Candy Cane Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
It seems like an amazing recipe and I can't wait to make it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Graciecake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I saw a recipe similar to this, to help with the dough rolling sprinkle some flour onto the board. I also used butter instead of margarine, it gives it more of a buttery flavor. I did not find the need to grease the cookie sheet, use the non stick kind instead. Hope this info helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This is the same recipe my family has been using from as far back as I can remember. Wonderful. A Christmas favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sleslie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
My family loves these!! To make the dough easier to work with I wrap each color dough ball in plastic and refrigerate for at least an hour or until the dough is firm. I am making these for Valentine's Day this year so I am coloring all the dough red and rolling the dough out and cutting out hearts and decorating them with cookie icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
These are my husbands favorite cookie. They are a bit of a pain to make but they are super cute and tasty. This recipe is missing the sugar/crushed peppermint topping though which is the key part of the cookie! Just mix equal parts sugar with finely crushed peppermints or candy canes. Top when the cookies are JUST out of the oven. If you are having problems with the topping not sticking, brush the cookies with a little corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rcole63301

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, Ohio, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Not completely impressed. Swelled up to look pretty ugly in the oven. The kids didn't eat any of them, the flavor was pretty blah. I'd rather color regular sugar cookie dough and twist into candy canes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AFWifeMomNurseAmy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
This recipe is verbatim from the old Betty Crocker cook book. The presentation of this cookie was always better then the taste. IMO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I've been making these cookies since my kids were very small. It has always been one of their favorites. I now make them for my great-grandkids. The only reason I don't give it 5 stars is because it is very time consuming and takes a lot of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
they burned too fast, i had to cook them in much less time. i do have an evil oven to work with and once i messed around with the cook time these were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I was not really impressed with these. I made them according to the recipe and they did not really taste like anything. They were also hard to roll and work with. The kids ended up combining the dough to make regular round cookies that looked like Christmas balls. Candy Cane Cookies II worked out much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Batmanda86

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States