Candy Cane Cookies from Gold Medal® Flour Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I've been making this recipe for several years now and it's an easy recipe for kids to help make the dough and the dough freezes well if you feel like making extra for another time. I've made using liquid and gel paste food coloring and I prefer the gel paste, the color is just much deeper. I do add a little extra peppermint extract when I make it and for a little something extra I sprinkle the cookies with finely crushed candy canes as soon as they come out of the oven, If you do that make sure you baked the cookies on parchment because the candy that lands on the hot pan makes a mess to clean off. The dough is pretty sticky and can be difficult to work with so I let it chill for quite a while or if short on time pop it in the freezer for a bit, the colder the better, and only bring out what I can work with in about a 10 minuets. These also work well as rolled cookies and cut out shapes with cookie cutters or rolled into logs and sliced and baked, this method works great for keeping on hand in the freezer for unexpected guests during the holidays. Just pull dough out, slice and bake and you have fresh cookies to offer guests in just minuets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orland, California, USA
Living In: Red Bluff, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This is one of my husband's most favorite holiday cookies! They are time consuming, but worth the effort. My mother in law has been making them for many years. She also crushes up candy canes and rolls the top part of the cookie in the crumbs to add some extra peppermint flavor and crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This is a great recipe. I had to use wax paper with some flour strewn across it before taking the dough and shaping it into the cane shapes. These are very flimsy and fall apart easily- do NOT add more flour to the recipe- it is supposed to be difficult to work with but just roll lightly in flour on wax paper and quickly transfer to the cookie sheet. I found that worked best for me. First time making these and worked really well. Have to work fast but it's worth it. Very buttery and tasty! Will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
The smell brought me back to my mom making these when I was young! I thought the ratios were great. Made a wonderful dough, and when baked the texture was perfect! My ONLY suggestion, was that the peppermint flavour was too faint. I will double peppermint next time. I will definitely make these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shandy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
This dough is missing something, or has too much of something. I'm thinking both. I'm thinking the cream was not needed. I'm thinking it needed at LEAST another cup of flour. It chilled in my fridge for 3 days before I finally got around to being able to shape them. I had hoped this would be a fun baking project for me and my kids. But this dough was way too frustrating to work with for kids. It's very flimsy and sticky. Even with coating our hands, surface, and lightly dusting the dough with flour, it stuck to everything. When we would finally get a little bit rolled into a couple tubes, it would fall apart when trying to twist it. I gave up after the second candy cane. So then we tried rolling both colors out with a rolling pin thinking we would put one on top of the other, and then roll together and cut into slices so they would look like peppermint hard candies, but the dough stuck to the wax paper we were rolling it on. We tried using a butter knife to separate it and it would stick to the knife. We finally just rolled the dough into little solid color balls, using lots of flour to minimize sticking (too much flour), and baked them that way. The results were really flat, flaky, crumbly cookies. They taste okay, though they seem a bit too rich to me. But the consistency is all wrong. Next time I'll just use my old tried and true sugar cookie recipe and flavor it. If I could give this zero stars I would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
My mother made these when I was a child and they were my all time favorite. Thanks for bringing them back around. I will be making these for my granddaughter. (Even if her mother won't let her eat them.!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
My family loves making these! I didn't change anything with this recipe. They come out so soft and fluffy every time too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I really liked the taste of the cookies but the dough was really hard to work with, to twist the way they showed in the picture. So, to make this easier for my 5 year old and I we just mushed the two colors together and rolled into a candy cane shape, so the cookies had a swirled look, not as candy cane striped, but still cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
What a great recipe. We did not have any peppermint oil since the stores were all out on christmas eve. Used more vanilla instead. We melted some andes mints and drizzled them across the cookies instead. This dough was so good it almost did not make it into cookie form - seriously! Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom_of_one_picky_kid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockdale, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
These were a little challenging to make but once you get the hang of them it goes fast. Made them for St. Nick Day get hit! Left the peppermint out of some just did vanilla only still tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shaker Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: University Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States