Candy Cane Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
did not complete
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NDG1974
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
What a great idea! I made this for our Christmas morning breakfast. My three kids (5, 3, 1 year) and husband absolutely loved it. My candy cane shape turned out pretty good, probably with a little practice I'll get better at it. I halved the recipe and used homemade strawberry jam for the stripes in place of cherry. I agree with others, it was really sweet. I think if you are going to add the jam/jelly it would be a good idea to cut down on the sugar in the filling just a little bit. This will become a family tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NDG1974

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hydro, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I made this for Christmas this year. I had some concerns early on in the dough process, as it was not a very workable dough and did not rise in the fridge at all. After refrigerating, I did divide the dough in half, but half wasn't nearly enough to make a decent sized coffee cake. I ended up using 3/4 of the dough to make one cake, and threw out the rest of the dough. It was very difficult to roll out, but I persevered. I did finally get it rolled and assembled. I opted to make a raspberry filling with an almond flavored glaze for the red and white striped effect. Once again, the dough did not copperated and double in size even after 1 1/2 hours. But, the cake did bake up beautifully and tasted wonderful. The candy cane shape was achieved, and everyone loved it. I think that this could be done with a different dough recipe that would be easier to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I was craving a sort of danish, so I decided to try to make this. The first attempt was a failure because the dough didn't rise at all - I must have left something out. Second time was the charm, however. It turned out really good, though I couldn't find cherry jam so I used seedless raspberry instead. My only problem was that it was a little too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I am new to yeast dough, so I really should be giving this a low rating bc the comment in the recipe description "lightly flour" did not apply when i made this. The dough was extreeeemely sticky and wet, and required aLOT of flour and some kneading to work in the flour. I'm not sure if the dough acquired moisture throughout the night in the fridge, or if I should have added extra flour to begin with, but difficult dough to say the least. HOWEVER.... it was all well worth it! It was amazing! I used raspberry jam(seedless) and made a sugar glaze. Everyone loved it. The candy cane shape didnt turn out so well, but it's my first time working with dough like this. Ugly but toooo diiiie for!!! Will absolutely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Vandalia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Was very good! I didn't roll it out right, though, so wasn't able to form a cane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Wacker Strange

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This was a great Danish-like recipe that everyone loved when we made it for christmas. I combined it with the Cinnamon Bun Icing recipe for the topping (instead of the Cherry) by ASILMARIE and it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara&Tom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
this is really a cherry-cheese danish recipe and i bring this to work when i need to manipulate my coworkers (vacation days, trading shifts, hiring decisions, etc). it has brainwashed them flawlessly. business comes to a grinding halt when you bring in a carafe of hot coffee as an added bonus and everyone gets to take a 10 minute vacation to paradise. tastes even better after sitting for a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belladonna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Okay, mine did NOT look as pretty as the picture, but it tasted wonderful. I made it for a staff meeting and they LOVED it. There wasn't a single bite left. One person literally licked the plate clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
We really enjoyed this recipe. I didn't make it for Christmas, so I didn't shape it like Candy Canes, just braided it on a cookie sheet. This recipe makes 2 loaves. It is wonderful. I served it for a bible study and everyone thought I purchased it from the bakery. I did heat up my cherry jam before drizzling over the top with a spoon.( I only needed about 6 oz. of jam) I also made simple white icing out of powdered sugar and milk to drizzle over the top of that. It was a very pretty presentation. The only suggestion I have is to let it cool completely before serving. I served mine warm out of the oven and the filling had a weird, almost eggy texture. When we ate the leftovers, they were much better. The filling was creamy and smooth, and the flavors had blended nicely. Thank you for a great recipe. Pretty easy, too. I think I'll make it for Christmas morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States