Candy Cane Cocoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Best cup of hot creamy hot cocoa I have had! To make measuring easy on me, I simply poured milk in a mug, poured that in the saucepan. Scooped up chocolate chips in a shot glass, and smashed the candy cane in a ziploc baggy using a meat mallet :) Two minutes and I have a creamy, chocolatey cup of cocoa!! Way better then making cocoa from cocoa powder. I can even adapted this recipe for my son who is allergic to dairy by simply using rice milk instead of whole milk. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Ducky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I really loved this twist on hot chocolate! My husband was afraid the peppermint would ruin it, but it didn't at all. This is definitely a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LianaW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Excellent twist on traditional hot chocolate. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
Better than Starbucks I have to say. I use semisweet chocolate chips and it works out just fine. I have the recipe memorized now and I make it all the time. Sometimes I add a lot of candycanes, sometimes not so many, but no matter how many it always tastes delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Hmmm mmmm good! I loved it!! Not overly peppermint like you might expect. Just the right amount! It was also good with a little peppermint schnapps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
This cocoa is absolutely delicious! I recommend this to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
I enjoyed this. My 6 year old daughter didn't really care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
i made it with instant hot chocolate and crushed the hook off of a candy cane and then stuck the rest of the candy cane in the drink and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
My family LOVED this minty chocolate cocoa! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2003
This is a yummy variation on the usual Carnation hot cocoa packet. It's the first time I've made it from scratch and it'll now be my standard. I was making it for 6 so I just evened everything out to make it easier. I used 6 cups milk, 6 ounces Ghirardelli semi-sweet chocolate chips (you can never have too much chocolate!) and crushed 6 candy canes. It took a bit of time for it to all meld together, but it was definitely worth it (I baked some fresh cookies from batter I'd made earlier while it simmered). I put regular sized candy canes in because it's all I had. All that was in the cocoa melted. I didn't have whipped cream so I used mashmallows. I'll try the whipped cream next time. It's especially great during the holiday season. Today is Christmas and it fit in perfectly! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERI KENNELLY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States