Candy Cane Chocolate Chunk Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
UGH!! This was lots of work to make. From the candy cane unwrapping and chopping to chopping up the candy bar (if I ever made this again I would just use milk chocolate chips). I read through the tips about using parchment paper and I used my silicone baking mats -- rotating them letting each batch cool before I removed them. The dough was not that great-- all the flavor comes from the candy in the cookie. I have had better cookies with less work. Everyone likes them but just after all that work. . . but for less work I can get the same kind of reaction with other cookies. I have come back to add a star -- even though I still think it is a ton of work -- I had great feedback on this cookie to all that I gave it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Zilla

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
These were good and certainly fit the Christmas season. As other reviewers suggested, I baked them on parchment paper at a lower temperature. I cooled them on the parchment paper and they didn't stick at all. I about doubled the chocolate but only had mini chips on hand. In the future, I think I would use bigger pieces, chips or chunks. My kids liked them and we will probably make them again after the holidays with any leftover candy canes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Recipe was too cakey- didnt care for these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Jeffries

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by donna
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I had a great time making these cookies. I used a couple of regular candycanes but then found it easier to use soft candycanes. Smashing the candycanes did take a bit of time but it was fun and the cookies turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Yummy cookies! I used almost a whole bag of milk chocolate chipits instead of the chocolate bar and they were great. I would flatten the dough balls out next time just for a better eye appeal. A great treat for xmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
My cookies came out dry and crumbly-but really tasted good!!! I used semi sweet chocolate chunks instead of the candy bar and used peppermint oil instead of extract. Thanks for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Canisteo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
These cookies were pretty good. The church staff loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
Loren's right--we've decided this cookie will be made every Christmas! My kids loved crushing the candy cane (I double ziplocked them). I only made a couple of changes as suggested by other reviewers...1 cup of chocolate chips and on the first batch I made, I added several drops of red food coloring since it seemed mostly white after I crushed the candy cane. Well, some cookies look fine, others look like open surgery! So the next batch I didn't add the food coloring and there was still plenty of red flecks in the cookies-a good lesson learned! The cookies are fabulous and I'm not even a huge peppermint fan-thanks for a fun recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
Very easy and tasty cookie. I made the following substitutions: 1 c. butter flavor shortening sticks plus 6 tsp. water for the butter 1/2 c. of miniature milk chocolate candy bars chopped and 1/2 c. semi sweet morsels for the 5oz. choc. bar. I also used silpat lined pans to bake them on and had no trouble with sticking. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
I'll have to try to make these again - My first batch came out with the consistency of dry cornbread and pretty much tasted like flour. I added an extra egg to get some more liquid in them, added a 1/2 cup of brown sugar and another 1/3 cup of white sugar. Those came out better but still with a flour taste. I LOVE the idea of these and the chocolate (I used chips for ease) I'll have to give them another shot with all of these 5 stars attached - I must have gone wrong somewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHPAP

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Weston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States