Candy Cane Chocolate Chunk Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Great cookies. Some reviews claim that they aren't sweet enough. I thought they were perfect. My three boys can't wait to make these next Christmas so they can bring them to school and share them with their classmates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Used 1 1/4 chunky chips. Probably could have used more or maybe small chips would be better to distribute chocolate better. Used 1/4C white sugar & 1/4C light brown sugar to make cookies softer. Didn't have peppermint extract - I think it would have helped to add flavor. Baked on Silpat mat to avoid sticking. Cookies tended to stick a bit to the spatula when removing. Need to continually clean end of spatula. Overall, a good way to use up those candy canes from the tree! Maybe with the added mint extract and mini chips I'd give this 5 stars....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
VERY good cookies! A friend and I just made these and were thoroughly impressed. We used the food processor to chop the candy canes, making the canes into a fine dust that we mixed into the dough. For an added touch, we put a Hershey Kisses Mint Truffle on top of each cookie right after they came out of the oven. Added a nice touch to the cookie. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I've been making this recipe for the last couple years and it is my primary Christmas cookie recipe. We all love it! I put a bag of milk chocolate chips in and chop the candy canes in the Cuisinart which makes it much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I used the sil pad so that I wouldn't have sticking. I did add more sugar and it was a pain to chop the candy cane and I guess all and all, I would say these cookies were not worth the effort. if they were wonderful, I would make them again, but I am deleting this from my personal recipe box
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Paradise Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
This was not as tasty as I wanted and it was tough to make. You have to get the candy canes small or they melt all over and ruin it. It also stuck to the pan real bad. It was ok but could have been sweeter and maybe use parchment paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Few tips: REMOVE IMMEDIATELY means "immediately!" These have candy (canes) in them and will stick to your pan like crazy. Be generous with the non-stick spray. Crush candy canes pretty finely. Otherwise, they melt during baking, leaving a big hole in your cookie and causing them to break. Make cookies smaller than you might think you need to; they spread. Bonus: You get a LOT of cookies per batch. I needed to bake mine 11-12 minutes. Test your first batch. My DH pronounced them "GREAT!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYMAGICWORD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Santa loved these! There was nothing left on the plate but crumbs. We used 5oz of chocolate chips instead of the candy bar, and to crush the candy canes, I just unwrapped them, sealed them in sturdy ziploc baggies, and let the kids pound them with plastic hammers. Better than a food processor. The candy canes did melt out of the cookies a bit as they baked, so lining the sheet with parchment paper is a good idea. That way, you can pick the melted candy bits off the paper and eat them- yumm. We will definitely make these again next Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Yum, they are a little messy with cooking the candy cane - I used a silicone mat underneath to permit for easy clean up - so I had to a tack on a few minutes until they were done. Great cookies for the neighborhood cookie exchange -thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyRae13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
This recipe seems to be shy on sugar. I will increase sugar next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States