Candy Bar Cookie Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I am an experienced cook of 30+ years, and maybe I did something wrong here, but sorry to say I didn't like this recipe much at all. I did use a chocolate cake mix instead of the yellow, so maybe that was the problem. The cookie bars rose nicely but they were dry and crumbly. I expected a gooey type bar. If you like gooey bars I'd suggest cooking them slightly "underdone". I like the concept of these bars but I think if I try them in the future I will use a standard Choc Chip cookie dough recipe and add the candy of choice to that. Thank you for the inspiring idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I absolutely LOVED these bars even though I am not a fan of nuts in cookies. I just tried making them with three Milky Way candy bars and they tasted even better! I do think that the next time I make them I will use five candy bars instead of three:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I thought these were ok but nothing spectacular. Everyone else who ate them, though, said they were delicious! I used french vanilla cake mix because that's what I had on hand. Maybe I'll try more Snickers next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I am not a huge sweet fan, but this was a really good, fun and easy recipe! My son and I made this together and both really liked it. Super easy! I cooked 25 mins, and it was perfect for us. Soft, but still kept it's shape when cut. We used leftover Halloween candy. 3 Reeses cups, 3 fun size snickers and 3 fun size M & M's! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
So glad someone mentioned that the batter was thick. I was sooooo worried in the beginning and then a read that. Boy, that's some thick stuff! :) Wonderful recipe and very nice to use up some of this darn Halloween candy. Can't believe how much of that stuff the kids end up with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
These are very good. I'm making this for the third time tonight. I tried a chocolate cake mix with Reeses Cups and it was really good, but I think the yellow cake mix with the Snickers are better. The batter is crazy thick but I put a little cooking spray on my hands and pat it down in the pan. They keep well in an airtight container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
VERY GOOD! I skipped the brown sugar (who needs it with cake mix and candy???!!!) and used a mixture of oil and margarine and applesauce to slightly improve the fat content. Quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Yum! I needed to bake for a bake sale and these were the easiest to make---and were delicious. I so not need to wonder if people will like them... For the first batch, I used mostly Snickers-Halloween size weighed for the recipe and a little reese's when I did not have enough. For the second batch, I used a Reeses candy mix which included candy bars, reese's pieces and peanut butter cups chopped. Both were equally good. Great recipe! Thank you. This will be one of my 'go to' recipes when I need to bring treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
my work mates just devoured these..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stanley Polley
Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I was looking for a recipe that contained Snickers for a co-worker who loves Snickers and it's her last day tomorrow. I doubled the recipe and used the exact ingredients. The dough was pretty hard to mix in the candy pieces and tough to spread. It took about 40 mins. to cook since the middle was still doughy at 30. The edges were hard and crunchy whereas the center was nice and soft. Getting them out of the pan was a challenge since they stuck to a non-stick pan and was breaking as I pulled them out with a spatula. They tasted pretty good & sweet, but couldn't taste too much of the Snickers, I may have cut them too small. If I make them next time, I'll remember to grease the pan and maybe use a combo on margerine & butter to see if the edges don't come out hard or roll them and make them into round cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States