Candy Bar Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Hubby gives these 10 stars. He believes the Snickers bars is what puts them over the top. As others have, I used the full can of sweetened condensed milk which worked out just fine. And for extra chocolatiness, I used a dark chocolate cake mix. It would be easy and tempting to overbake these, as after the recommended baking time they still were a little jiggly in the pan. I resisted the temptation to bake them longer and I was glad I did--they set up perfectly as they cooled. My only criticism is that these were a little on the greasy side. Perhaps using the full can of milk rather than the 2/3 c. called for is responsible. Otherwise, I think I'd reduce the butter to 1/2 c. rather than 3/4 c. A creative and easy twist on a boxed cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2002
I thought I'd alter the recipe just a bit. I made three changes. One, I used a smaller pan....Definite mistake. When I mixed the cake mix, milk, and butter together, I assumed a 9x13 pan was too large. BOY was I wrong. I can't stress this enough....USE the 9x13 pan, nothing smaller. The second and third changes were great though, instead of using snickers, I used milky way and I added pecans. Great!!! My co-workers love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
Mmmmmmm...good! This is an easy, great recipe. I used a lowfat devils foods cake mix and used mostly Snickers and a few Recess Peanut Butter Cups. It was a great combination. The brownies came out chewey and delicious. I took them to a 4th of July barbecue and brought some to work today. Both groups loved them. I'm going to try them with different combinations of candy bars now. A definite keeper for me. Thanks! ****** I just made these again and used other reader's suggestions of using a 1/2 cup butter and almost a whole can of condensed milk, and I baked it in mini muffin cups. Also, I didn't bake the first layer first...just baked it all at once. The little cups turned out really cute, but the only thing was that when I took them out of the oven, they fell and had a large dip in the middle. I ended up putting a mini scoop of ice cream in the middle of the brownie cup and swirling some caramel sauce on top. It looked realy pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dayna~rae
Reviewed: May 6, 2007
All I can say is 'WOW'! Ok, maybe I can say a little more...I have been looking for this recipe for awhile now...a cookie store in our mall sold 'Snicker Bar Brownies'. They closed a few years ago and I still get cravings for theirs! I have searched the internet for a similar recipe, and I have to say that these come very, very close (theirs might have been a bit more fudgey). I did have trouble putting the second layer on top, so I ended up just dropping the batter by the spoonfuls. I was a little worried that there would not be enough batter, or that it was too thinly spread...but it rose up nicely in the oven. Perfection! Thanks for much for posting this recipe. PS My husband has eaten 1/2 a pan already and I was going to take these to school for a luncheon...I guess I will have to make another batch. Oh, I used mini-Snickers instead of the full-sized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
The second time I made these I used the entire can of the milk and sliced the candy bars instead of cutting them in chunks. I think they turned out better this way. I got great reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
made two recipes, comments were wow, this is the best I've ate, delicious , never tasted anything this good. I am a 73 year old and it is real easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
I did not care for this recipe. I don't understand the rave reviews. I am a chocolate lover and a snickers lover (and a butter lover!), so I thought these would be perfect. They were WAY WAY too oily. I had to let them sit on papertowels before plating them, to absorb the butter, and they even soaked through that. My counters look like an oil slick! I also made them late at night for a function the following day. They didn't survive. By the next day at 6 am, they were crumbly and hard (yet still, strangely greasy). Will definitely not make these again. Disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2002
These are great! A super way to use up left over Halloween candy. So easy and gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I like this recipe because it is so fast and easy! I made it just like it says the first time, but it was very oily. The second time I used only 1/2 cup of butter and pretty much the whole can of milk. They were less oily and held together better. I also used yellow cake mix and most of a package of crushed heath the 2nd time. This is my hubby's new fave! Making them again tonight for our women's night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brianna VonEye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
5+ stars. This is the best brownie recipe ever!!!! And don't even taste the batter -- it will never make it to the oven. My grandkids love this recipe and unfortunately, so does their grandmother. Whoa -- don't even want to know the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States