Candy Bar Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
It worked in a smaller pan. For the 9x13 there wasn't enough for the crust and sprinkled topping. After using a 8x8 I had some left over, but not enough for a second batch so I ended up throwing it away. Maybe a 9x9? I used twix and milk choc & caramel chips. It was ok, not the greatest thing I've tasted and a bit on the rich side. There are way better things out there to make for your sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cornpop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This recipe was ok. I cut the butter to 1/2 cup. When I put top layer of batter on I patted out in my hands like hamburger patties and layed on top. worked good. But brownies are too gooey in the middle and bland tasting. They are ok if you plop into bowls and eat with spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
People both love and hate me when I make these... because they're so good and they can't stop eating them. This is a good base for any additions you care to throw in. I've used various combinations including baby ruths, rolos, peanut butter cups, pecans and mini-marshmallows (added toward the end of the baking of the first layer, they get slightly toasty and are amaaaaaazing)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
Sorry, but my family and I did not like these at all. They seemed greasy and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Canisteo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Hubby gives these 10 stars. He believes the Snickers bars is what puts them over the top. As others have, I used the full can of sweetened condensed milk which worked out just fine. And for extra chocolatiness, I used a dark chocolate cake mix. It would be easy and tempting to overbake these, as after the recommended baking time they still were a little jiggly in the pan. I resisted the temptation to bake them longer and I was glad I did--they set up perfectly as they cooled. My only criticism is that these were a little on the greasy side. Perhaps using the full can of milk rather than the 2/3 c. called for is responsible. Otherwise, I think I'd reduce the butter to 1/2 c. rather than 3/4 c. A creative and easy twist on a boxed cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
These were amazing. I wish I could give them 10 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philip, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This was real easy & very yummy! I was never a big fan of brownies, but I love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I followed other reviewers' advice and used almost the whole 14 oz can of condensed milk, instead of what the recipe says. It turned out great; these are my absolute favorite brownies! Even after a couple days they're still chewy. The nougat and caramel melt together and into the brownie mix and are so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kierabs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I LOVED THIS SOOO MUCH!!! So did my family...the only thing was that the batter was too thick and I had to add water to make it spreadable...also if your using butterfingers a warning that it kind of over powers the taste of them...also if u crunch some butterfingers up and sprinkle it over the top it looks pretty as a decoration...I really have no complaints and I will definately be making these again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
Apparently, reading ingredients is an essential part of baking! I thought I had read evaporated milk, not sweet condensed milk....I didn't have sweet condensed milk. SO, I used 2/3 cup of evaporated milk and 1/2 cup of sugar. I also used milky way mini candies. It turned out great! I gave it 5 stars because despite my issue w/ reading, they turned out fab and I can't blame the recipe for my own mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States