Candy Bar Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
These are just ok, but nothing impressive at all. They aren't like a brownie at all and I followed the recipe exactly. I think that the issue is the German Chocolate cake mix. I'd do as others have suggested and use dark chocolate fudge cake mix or something with more flavor. I would have rather had plain pillsbury boxed brownies than these and I do love both Snickers and Brownies, so there's something off here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M.Hooper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This was great. I was very apprehensive about making it since many of the reviews said it was greasy. The brownies do come out of the oven greasy. However, I put the brownies in the fridge and the Butter was able to solidify. It was a great fix. They were no longer greasy! I substituted milky way bars for snickers. I brought these to a party and everyone loved them. People really like the richness, sweetness, and bit of salty-ness of these brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This recipe is fantastic!! I was a little skeptical at first, seeing the ingredients but they are delish! Chewy, and so good! I had leftover Butterfinger bars from Halloween and this was a great way to use them! I am actually making another batch this week!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by italprincess75

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Really easy to make and they are always gone in no time. Worth a shot if you want to make something different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Made these for a luncheon and people raved about them. Super easy to make and a bit hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I like this recipe because it is so fast and easy! I made it just like it says the first time, but it was very oily. The second time I used only 1/2 cup of butter and pretty much the whole can of milk. They were less oily and held together better. I also used yellow cake mix and most of a package of crushed heath the 2nd time. This is my hubby's new fave! Making them again tonight for our women's night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brianna VonEye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
Very tasty..very chewy...very very EASY! This is a perfect recipe when you want something different, delicious, and fast and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by msptstatus
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
After all the reviews about how unattractive the brownies looked, I decided to sprinkle shredded coconut on top of the batter. I figured coconut would still go with German Chocolate cake batter. Also, with all the previous reviews stating that they turned out greasy, I added about a half of a cup of all purpose flour to help soak it. The brownies themselves tasted ok, not as chocolately as I would have wanted (probably due to the all purpose flour). But I think I would have added more candy to the batter than what's recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msptstatus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
The only reason I gave these three stars is because my mom and aunt (the queens of chocolate in their own minds) LOVED them. My mixture wasn't crumbly but I think it's because I used the whole can of condensed milk. My husband ate one of the snicker's bars I had intended on using so I threw in some peanut butter cups and an almond joy. Very very sweet. AVOID the urge to over bake. This is a dessert that will be better undercooked than overcooked. Wait until they are completely cooled to cut them, especially if the middle is still soft. Not my favorite, but as I said - other's loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvTheseKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodhaven, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rockwood, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Love these brownies and have made them numerous times! The only reason for four stars is that I only use 1/2 cup of margarine - otherwise no changes and if not for that I would rate them a 10!!! The margarine I use is 53% vegetable oil. I'm sure different margarines will produce varied results and using the entire can of sweetened condensed milk will certainly make them greasy. I make them with Snickers or Milky Way. Both versions are excellent. This is my 'go to' brownie recipe. Everyone I have ever made them for raves about these brownies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States