Candy Bar Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
These are just ok, but nothing impressive at all. They aren't like a brownie at all and I followed the recipe exactly. I think that the issue is the German Chocolate cake mix. I'd do as others have suggested and use dark chocolate fudge cake mix or something with more flavor. I would have rather had plain pillsbury boxed brownies than these and I do love both Snickers and Brownies, so there's something off here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M.Hooper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This was great. I was very apprehensive about making it since many of the reviews said it was greasy. The brownies do come out of the oven greasy. However, I put the brownies in the fridge and the Butter was able to solidify. It was a great fix. They were no longer greasy! I substituted milky way bars for snickers. I brought these to a party and everyone loved them. People really like the richness, sweetness, and bit of salty-ness of these brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This recipe is fantastic!! I was a little skeptical at first, seeing the ingredients but they are delish! Chewy, and so good! I had leftover Butterfinger bars from Halloween and this was a great way to use them! I am actually making another batch this week!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by italprincess75

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Really easy to make and they are always gone in no time. Worth a shot if you want to make something different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Made these for a luncheon and people raved about them. Super easy to make and a bit hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I like this recipe because it is so fast and easy! I made it just like it says the first time, but it was very oily. The second time I used only 1/2 cup of butter and pretty much the whole can of milk. They were less oily and held together better. I also used yellow cake mix and most of a package of crushed heath the 2nd time. This is my hubby's new fave! Making them again tonight for our women's night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brianna VonEye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
Very tasty..very chewy...very very EASY! This is a perfect recipe when you want something different, delicious, and fast and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by msptstatus
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
After all the reviews about how unattractive the brownies looked, I decided to sprinkle shredded coconut on top of the batter. I figured coconut would still go with German Chocolate cake batter. Also, with all the previous reviews stating that they turned out greasy, I added about a half of a cup of all purpose flour to help soak it. The brownies themselves tasted ok, not as chocolately as I would have wanted (probably due to the all purpose flour). But I think I would have added more candy to the batter than what's recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msptstatus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
The only reason I gave these three stars is because my mom and aunt (the queens of chocolate in their own minds) LOVED them. My mixture wasn't crumbly but I think it's because I used the whole can of condensed milk. My husband ate one of the snicker's bars I had intended on using so I threw in some peanut butter cups and an almond joy. Very very sweet. AVOID the urge to over bake. This is a dessert that will be better undercooked than overcooked. Wait until they are completely cooled to cut them, especially if the middle is still soft. Not my favorite, but as I said - other's loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvTheseKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodhaven, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rockwood, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Love these brownies and have made them numerous times! The only reason for four stars is that I only use 1/2 cup of margarine - otherwise no changes and if not for that I would rate them a 10!!! The margarine I use is 53% vegetable oil. I'm sure different margarines will produce varied results and using the entire can of sweetened condensed milk will certainly make them greasy. I make them with Snickers or Milky Way. Both versions are excellent. This is my 'go to' brownie recipe. Everyone I have ever made them for raves about these brownies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No time? No problem!
No time? No problem!

Eat well fast with our collection of quick and easy recipes.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down great pies every day right up to Thanksgiving. Join the fun!

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States