Candy Bar Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2000
Myself and my husband love chocolate with peanut butter and this cookie really satisfied the chocolate tooth! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2004
These bars tasted good, but they were TOO greasy (and I would have used half the amount of vanilla). Quick solution: I cut the bars 10x2 (instead of making 40 bars). Then I crushed graham crackers in a large plastic ziploc bag and coated each bar individually. Then I wrapped each bar in tin foil and voila...homemade candy bars, ready to eat on the run.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSIE6381

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corcoran, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
what we did was 2C oats, 1C flour, 1C cocoa powder. Just a couple mins longer on the bake time for me. Next time I might add an egg. Or even rice krispy cereal in place of some of the oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2002
My husband LOVED this! I thought it was too rich, but he asked me to separate the dough in half and put an extra chocolatey layer down the middle. My eldest looks forward to having these after school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
I thought this bar was really good, but I think it could be better. Next time I make it I'm adding a little salt to the oatmeal mixture, maybe 1/4 tsp, and a little salt to the chocolate/peanut butter spread, also probably 1/4 tsp. I agree with another reviewer that the vanilla could but cut in half. Also, be sure to press down hard when "patting" the oatmeal mixture into the pan. Otherwise, they will fall apart when you cut them. I tried the suggestion of coating with graham cracker crumbs (smashed a graham cracker in a ziplog bag, then dropped a square in the bag and shook around), and it helped tremendously with the messy factor, without changing the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
Tastes just like a candy bar!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
Really, really, really good! I didn't have any problems with crumbling, I just wish the chocolate and peanut butter on top wasn't so "gooey"...if the "topping" could be a little less gooey I would have given this recipe 5 stars! Other than that though - these were GREAT! I will definitely make these again! I also think that I might try just the oatmeal cookie bar with some nuts and dried cranberries! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaci

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
Although I liked this dish, and it was very easy to make, I probably won't make it again. I was careful not to overbake and even though I added a few minutes to the bake time the bars felt underdone. They just didn't have the texture I was looking for. Add to that, they were way too sweet. (And I have a HUGE sweet tooth.) Nice try but it isn't for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waddell, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2001
I found these bars to be quite crumbly with the crust not sticking together enough. Good flavor, however, similar to a granola bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
These bars are absolutely addicting! The perfect "I have to have something sweet" snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Holcombe, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Gilman, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Candy Bars

See how to make candy bars even yummier.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States