Candy Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2000
I couldn't keep my fingers out of it! yummy!!! And the scent filled up the house like a powerful votive candle. I made it for a prize at the cakewalk for my kids' school carnival, and it was a big hit! (I had a hard time giving it up, though!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
I love it!!! but I also put my own twist.. quadruple the red hots.. and added 3 atomic fireballs ( jawbreakers) as I love the apple cinnamon taste.. I remove from heat before the apples are tender because they have to sit to cool and will continue to soften, I, like the other reviewer don't want a mush pie. I'm sure you could also use the Lorans (tm) candy flavorings for the cinnamon flavor. I made mine a nice red with gel foodcoloring. This pie is AWESOME if I remember to take a pic I will submit it. I Serve it with whipped cream from the can.. TAS-TEE!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chesterfield Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
What a heavenly smell while baking!!! I added extra candies and it was the best apple pie we've ever had. Will certainly make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This recipe was very very good. I made for our Thanksgiving get together and it was a mojor hit!! Very simple to make also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwalal1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I made this for a baking contest at work. Unfortunately it didn't win(not the pie's fault, I think the people were scared to try something different) The changes that this recipe needs: More food coloring then called for, maybe a whole TSP. Also more apples, 5 Granny's just wasn't enough, next time I am going to try it with 7 and see how that goes. I like a big pie where the top of the pie is up over the edge of the crust or at least meeting it. The filling had great flavor, I could have just ate the filling with a spoon it tasted so GOOD!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Great Christmas pie. Don't overcook, as others have found out. I increased the red hots to 1/4 cup and used Cranberry-Pomegranet juice (a 1/2 cup less than called for) and added 1/3 cup sugar. Serve with cool whip or whipped cream and some crushed green peppermints on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I did make just a couple of minor changes, but love this recipe! I added more cinnamon candies and instead of sliced apples I diced the apples. I used a can of cinnamon rolls flattened and placed in a pie pan then baked them and that is my crust.... can we say YUMMY!!!! Thank you for sharing such a wonderful recipe :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommyof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2001
I liked this and served it with Cool Whip and my friends really enjoyed it. The only thing I felt it needed was more red hot's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
My family loved this pie and I loved that because it had very little sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
I decided to make this recipe because I have never heard of it, and like to try new things. I made a few adjustments after reading what others said. I only used 1 cup of apple juice, eliminted the red dye,doubled the vanilla extract, and used half of a small bag of red hots. It turned out good. The cinammon flavor was right on, and it wasn't mushy at all. I sprinkled the top with a little powdered sugar and cinammon and a dallop of cool whip. You must love the taste of cinnamon to love this recipe. Overall it was good, but because my family isn't a huge fan of cinnamon, I will only be making it for myself next time! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States