Candy Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This recipe was very very good. I made for our Thanksgiving get together and it was a mojor hit!! Very simple to make also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwalal1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I did make just a couple of minor changes, but love this recipe! I added more cinnamon candies and instead of sliced apples I diced the apples. I used a can of cinnamon rolls flattened and placed in a pie pan then baked them and that is my crust.... can we say YUMMY!!!! Thank you for sharing such a wonderful recipe :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommyof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Great Christmas pie. Don't overcook, as others have found out. I increased the red hots to 1/4 cup and used Cranberry-Pomegranet juice (a 1/2 cup less than called for) and added 1/3 cup sugar. Serve with cool whip or whipped cream and some crushed green peppermints on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
I love it!!! but I also put my own twist.. quadruple the red hots.. and added 3 atomic fireballs ( jawbreakers) as I love the apple cinnamon taste.. I remove from heat before the apples are tender because they have to sit to cool and will continue to soften, I, like the other reviewer don't want a mush pie. I'm sure you could also use the Lorans (tm) candy flavorings for the cinnamon flavor. I made mine a nice red with gel foodcoloring. This pie is AWESOME if I remember to take a pic I will submit it. I Serve it with whipped cream from the can.. TAS-TEE!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chesterfield Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I made this for a baking contest at work. Unfortunately it didn't win(not the pie's fault, I think the people were scared to try something different) The changes that this recipe needs: More food coloring then called for, maybe a whole TSP. Also more apples, 5 Granny's just wasn't enough, next time I am going to try it with 7 and see how that goes. I like a big pie where the top of the pie is up over the edge of the crust or at least meeting it. The filling had great flavor, I could have just ate the filling with a spoon it tasted so GOOD!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2000
I couldn't keep my fingers out of it! yummy!!! And the scent filled up the house like a powerful votive candle. I made it for a prize at the cakewalk for my kids' school carnival, and it was a big hit! (I had a hard time giving it up, though!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
What a heavenly smell while baking!!! I added extra candies and it was the best apple pie we've ever had. Will certainly make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
I decided to make this recipe because I have never heard of it, and like to try new things. I made a few adjustments after reading what others said. I only used 1 cup of apple juice, eliminted the red dye,doubled the vanilla extract, and used half of a small bag of red hots. It turned out good. The cinammon flavor was right on, and it wasn't mushy at all. I sprinkled the top with a little powdered sugar and cinammon and a dallop of cool whip. You must love the taste of cinnamon to love this recipe. Overall it was good, but because my family isn't a huge fan of cinnamon, I will only be making it for myself next time! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2001
I liked this and served it with Cool Whip and my friends really enjoyed it. The only thing I felt it needed was more red hot's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
My family loved this pie and I loved that because it had very little sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States